Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Lincoln's War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quite a few rule questions, most on 'Activation' rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc Blume
Switzerland
Erlenbach ZH
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello

I played «Lincoln's War» with a friend for the first time yesterday. Even though we are both experienced wargamers, we had some difficulties in understanding the rules. Can anybody help us out?

(8.1.2) Other CSN Assets
- Do CSN Assets ever return to port? If yes, in what phase? If no, can they continue to move every future turn?

(8.3.2) Confederate Raider Effects

- Can a Commerce Raider attack in the same turn that it has moved to the commerce raider track?

(11.0) Activation
- Can a Commanding Officer (CO) pick up subordinates during movement?
- Can a CO attack with subordinates that he has picked up during movement?
- Can a CO drop off subordinates during movement?
- Can dropped off subordinates move on to different hexes than their former CO?
- Can dropped off subordinates attack, even though their original CO has moved off to other hexes?

(16.0) Combat
- In exactly what step of the combat sequence is the combat strength of all participants revealed?

Thanks for your help!

Greetings from Switzerland
Marc.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Poniske
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Marc,

(8.1.2) Other CSN Assets
- Do CSN Assets ever return to port? If yes, in what phase? If no, can they continue to move every future turn?


CSN Assets must begin and end movement in a port. They may move once during Confederate Naval Movement.

(8.3.2) Confederate Raider Effects
- Can a Commerce Raider attack in the same turn that it has moved to the commerce raider track?


Yes it can, even when escaping a blockaded port.

(11.0) Activation
- Can a Commanding Officer (CO) pick up subordinates during movement?


A CO can pick up a subordinate yes, but that means a lower ranking officer. If a CO moves into a hex containing a CO of equal rank he immediately becomes the subordinate of that CO. This also goes for railing. So be very careful who you march or ship or you will wind up with the likes of Albert Sidney Johnston becoming a subordinate of the likes of Polk.

- Can a CO attack with subordinates that he has picked up during movement?


Yes.

- Can a CO drop off subordinates during movement?


Yes. In fact a CO may give orders to all his subordinates before he begins movement and ship each to a separate hex if he likes.

- Can dropped off subordinates move on to different hexes than their former CO?


If I understand you correctly, yes. See previous answer.

- Can dropped off subordinates attack, even though their original CO has moved off to other hexes?


Yes. As before, orders may be given to subordinates before and after that, they may act on their own. Understand that once detached from the original army it may be more expensive to consolidate them again.

(16.0) Combat
- In exactly what step of the combat sequence is the combat strength of all participants revealed?


After cards have been revealed. Note that certain combat resource cards will cancel a battle - in which case you never had the opportunity to see your enemy in the field and count his men or identify his units.


Thanks for your questions. Marc.
I visited Switzerland once upon a time and find the cheese pies I had there a VERY fond memory.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michel Boucher
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Poniske wrote:
Hi Marc,

(8.1.2) Other CSN Assets
- Do CSN Assets ever return to port? If yes, in what phase? If no, can they continue to move every future turn?


CSN Assets must begin and end movement in a port. They may move once during Confederate Naval Movement.


CSN Assets (rule 8.1.2.1), it should be noted, can also perform a reaction move during operations: "When a Confederate river port with an ironclad is captured, the ironclad is moved to the next adjacent friendly port on a river within 4 hexes or if none are available, it is scuttled. When a friendly ocean port with ironclads is captured by land, the ironclads are moved to the nearest friendly ocean port within four hexes, otherwise they are deemed lost at sea in transit."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.