Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Richard Finchington III versus Bloated Leng Spider rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Morrow
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mb
I have Richard Finchington III out who states: Forced Response - When a MONSTER or CREATURE character enters play, it loses all (T) icons until the end of the phase and it immediately goes insane. My oppenent plays Bloated Leng Spider which states: Forced Response - After Bloated Leng Spider enters play, all characters with skill 2 or lower go insane.

My question is this:

As Richard has a skill of 2, he would normally go insane, but his ability says that because the spider is a creature, IT should go insane. What happens? Who goes insane?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Logan Daugherty
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm fairly sure the active player resolves the order of Forced Responses.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carthoris Pyramidos
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would have "when ... enters play" resolve ahead of "after ... enters play."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Happy Squig
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
It's from a movie.
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I'd say Richard goes insane. In the FAQ they deal with "When..." and "After..." re: timing (I think). And they are both, essentially, at the same time. If your opponent is playing the Spider on his turn then he is the active player and decides the order.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Garbett
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Will Provide Statistics for Data
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HappyDD wrote:
I'd say Richard goes insane.
Assuming the active player wants that ordering...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Long
United States
State College
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Fly Eagles Fly!
badge
The Cthulhu player, not the Football player.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CyberGarp wrote:
HappyDD wrote:
I'd say Richard goes insane.
Assuming the active player wants that ordering...


Yeah, this sounds a lot like simultaneous effects to me. Check out the entry on that subject in the FAQ and you'll get a better explanation, but essentially the active player gets to decide the order. So this situation will resolve however you want it to.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.