BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Tactics of Fate - Early Brainstorming Phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Kilroy
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
First and foremost, I apologize if my post seems a bit jumbled. I'm not too good at getting my ideas down in a manner in which others can easily understand. That aside, here goes.

The game is pretty simple so far. There are two decks per player:
Hero Deck(Working Name)-
Basically this is your main deck that included your Heroes, Items, Spells and Traps
Field Deck-
This contains the Field Cards used to construct the the playing area at the beginning of the game.

Each Hero Deck must hold one Veteran card that will act as your overall Life Total. It's like a normal Hero except for the fact that if it's HP reaches 0 it's Game Over for it's controller and it is played in one of the four corners of the board from the start of the game.

Now to break down each card type within the Hero Deck. There are 4 types of cards, Heroes, Items, Spells, and Traps, with Items having sub categories.
Heroes-
These are your basic attackers and Defenders. They can be killed and leveled(more on that in a bit). Heroes can only be played in any of the 8 squares surrounding the Veteran.
Items-
There are two different types of item cards; Equipment and Inventory. Both of which must be placed face down one block away from one of your Heroes to symbolize being found. This also means they can be stolen by your opponent.
Spells-
These have their own ranges and a mana cost. They also have class specific limitations.
Traps-
Like items these must be placed within one block of one of your own Heroes.

More specifics on Heroes:
All Hero cards have the following information-
Name
Level(between 1-10)
HP and Mana(If class allowed)
Artwork
Class(This determines both Equipment and Spells that can be used)
Set Symbol
Abilities Panel