United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Ami. Geek.
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm in the market for a beginner rifle. My constraints are as follows:

1) Entry level. I've never owned a rifle before. I have limited experience with several different varieties from muzzle loader to modern "assault type" weapons with varying degrees of caliber from .22 to "ow, my shoulder hurts." Never fully auto, but as I can't buy one of those anyway, that's probably moot.

2) On a budget. $800 to be exact.

3) Must fit reasonably well into a low-end safe. I don't have the safe yet, but the budget for that is about $350. I'm sure you'll let me know if any of this is totally unrealistic.

4) Must be able to fit a scope.

5) Ideally suitable for hunting small game up through deer. Doesn't need to take out a grizzly with one shot, but I may want to use it for hunting some day.

6) Ideally ammunition would be common and relatively inexpensive.

Any ideas?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric "Shippy McShipperson" Mowrer
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Ami. Geek.
mbmbmbmbmb
Koldfoot wrote:
You may not want one. Other than that, Why can't you buy fully auto?

Price? They are legal.

Price. Hassle. Cost of ammo. They're not entry level by any means. It's just a non-starter for me for now. Maybe some day.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Logging plays since 2004
badge
Oh, so you actually think about what you are saying?
mbmbmbmbmb
A Ruger 10/22 is a good starter rifle. The rimfire ammo will help with the afore-mentioned high cost of ammo. It will be good for basic target practice and small game. It is cheap enough you should still have some left over to purchase a real deer rifle later, if you decide you want that.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John O'Haver
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Pet photographer, that's me.
mbmbmbmbmb