United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some of it was answered here...
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Battlestar_Galactica_...
... but I don't recall these being addressed anywhere.



1) BEFORE the fleets jump back
President title card says
Action: Draw 1 Quorum card into your hand.
When you play a Quorum card while on a New Caprica location, roll a die. If 3 or less, you are sent to "Detention."

Popular Influence says
Quote:
Action: Draw 2 Quorum Cards and choose 1 to give to the President. Then, either play or discard the other card.


I'm assuming a Qcard played via Popular Influence means you do NOT have to roll the die to see if you're sent to Detention?



2) BEFORE & AFTER the fleets jump back
Test The Limits
Quote:
Action: If the fleet marker is not on a blue space of the Jump Preparation track, increase the track by 1 and roll a die. If 5 or lower, damage Galactica.


Can you play this even though you can't damage Gally? After the fleets jump back, play this just to damage one of the battlestar ships?

I'm gonna guess no and yes.



3) BEFORE & AFTER
Quote:
Action: Place a basestar in front of Galactica and draw a Politics Card. Do not launch or activate any Cylon ships for the rest of this turn.

BEFORE: Play Negotiations just to draw a yellow?
guessing no. There is no fleet activity then.

EITHER: does this stop Occupation Forces (OF) from activating?
I'm going to guess no



4) BEFORE
resolve Dogfight?
Quote:
Skill Check: The current player may damage 1 viper in a space area of in the "Reserves" to remove 1 other card from this skill check.

I'm guessing no, as you don't deal with vipers at that point. You wouldn't have any dogfights at that point thematically either



5) BEFORE
use Raptor Specialist
Quote:
Action: Either destroy a raptor to gain an assault raptor or return a destroyed raptor to the "Reserves."

Raptors can still be risked on NC, so I'm guessing yes to playing this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Star Fox
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Keep busy to keep happy.
badge
If you have fun, then even if you lose you still win!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:

When you play a Quorum card while on a New Caprica location, roll a die. If 3 or less, you are sent to "Detention."

I'd rule it specifically word for word by the card text. Any time the president plays a quorum card for any reason, they have to roll the die. All other players can play popular influence without risk because they don't have the president title card, therefore the text on that card doesnt apply to them.

Quote:
"Action: If the fleet marker is not on a blue space of the Jump Preparation track, increase the track by 1 and roll a die. If 5 or lower, damage Galactica."

Can you play this even though you can't damage Gally? After the fleets jump back, play this just to damage one of the battlestar ships?

I'm gonna guess no and yes.

I'd agree with you. The card shouldnt be able to be played without risk. damaging gally is a requirement of playing the card - you cant get something for nothing. whistle
And after Gally returns then the jump preparation track isnt used, so im not actually sure. Maybe similar logic would be used 'you can't get nothing for something' so if the jump preparation track can't be affected, then the card can't be played. If you allow it just for the harmful effect with no reward to balance it out, then I suppose a cylon player could use it as a soft reveal, but by that point it probably wouldnt matter much anyway. I'd probably not allow it, woudlnt really seem fair. (most cards like this, and mutiny cards, have some sort of reward-punishment trade-off. That seems to be in the spirit of these kinds of cards, so yeah)

Quote:
Action: Place a basestar in front of Galactica and draw a Politics Card. Do not launch or activate any Cylon ships for the rest of this turn.

If it's not possible to do part of the cards effect, I wouldnt allow it to be played. (not until galactica returns) seeing as that basestar cant be placed.

Quote:
"Skill Check: The current player may damage 1 viper in a space area of in the "Reserves" to remove 1 other card from this skill check."

I'm guessing no, as you don't deal with vipers at that point. You wouldn't have any dogfights at that point thematically either

Thematically I suppose it wouldnt make sense, but you would all be sitting round the board with vipers in the reserves that could potentially be damaged. Maybe allow this one - Pilots get a hard enough time on NC anyway.

Quote:
Action: Either destroy a raptor to gain an assault raptor or return a destroyed raptor to the "Reserves."

Raptors can still be risked on NC, so I'm guessing yes to playing this.

Yeah i'd allow that one to be played. Like 'dogfight' it's just interacting with ships in the reserves, which are always on the board and always in play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gotta run but #1 is a known case:

Q: If Roslin uses her once-per-game ability to resolve a Quorum Card while on New Caprica, does she risk going to Detention? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to abraxus_smith) No, she is not in danger of being placed in Detention. This ability is not the same as playing a Quorum card from her hand for a number of reasons. To be clearer, the title card should really say "When you play a Quorum card from your hand...

This was under character abilities, but could be copied/moved to the general NC section.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Unlike starfox, I'd say "yes" to everything - sure, it goes counter to the theme in several cases, but literal wording and rules interpretation trumps theme...

On Negotiations specifically, I'd consider two clarifying questions:

A) Can you use it when all basestars are already in play? (the other time when you can't place a basestar)
B) Does it stop Centurions from activating? (also not Cylon ships)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Star Fox
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Keep busy to keep happy.
badge
If you have fun, then even if you lose you still win!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rmsgrey wrote:
A)Can you use it when all basestars are already in play? (the other time when you can't place a basestar)
B) Does it stop Centurions from activating? (also not Cylon ships)


A.) It says place a base star in front of Galactica. Maybe it can count as moving? When playing with the CFB you would move it from that board to the front of Galatica. Maybe you can 'place' a basestar by taking one of the 2 on the main game board and moving it to the front?

B.) Well, like you said- "literal wording and rules interpretation" and literally speaking, centurions are not ships, so they shouldn't be affected.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A lot of this seems to be thinking that if you can't do everything on a card, you can't use it at all. Remember that's not how BSG works:

1. Read the text of the ability you wish to use.
2. Apply each step as literally as possible. If you are unable to complete the step, skip the step and move on to the next step.

Also known as "Do all you can as literally as you can."

Consider this example:

Q: Once Galactic returns to orbit during the New Caprica phase, could a Cylon still play "Bomb on Colonial One," even though Colonial One is not in play? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes, the -2 morale would still apply if the check fails.

And remember that the only reason a Cylon can't play the Super Crisis before Galactica returns is that there's no Caprica location to do it from. The lack of C1 is not stopping anything.

Negotations:

Q: Does Negotiations prevent activating centurions?
A: ( Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Negotiations have been successful in distracting the centurions, and they will not activate this turn. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)

C'mon people read the UFAQ, that's what it's there for. Obviously if cents don't active neither do OFs.

And yes, you absolutely can use it when basestars are in play. If both are on main game board (including if no CFB exists) then the first part does nothing. This is also called a very good time for humans to play negotiations.

And yes, you can use it when Galactica isn't in orbit. Draw your politics & stop activations. Sure it's a little cheap, but hey, you need to use whatever tricks you can sometimes.

Test the Limits:
Sure, play it before the fleet gets back and get the FTL. Good trick to do, I recommend this (of course, just advancing FTL means you're not prepping ships so maybe you're an unrevealed Cylon)...

Sure, play it after the fleet gets back to just damage Galactica. Now I KNOW you're a Cylon.

Dogfight
In this case, since the card since "Do x TO do y," which is a rare wording in BSG but important when it does show up, I agree that you can't use it before the fleet returns (or after if there's no viper available).

Raptors
Like you said, if you risk raptors on NC then you obviously have a supply of them somewhere, and if one of them happens to look like it has some serious firepower, well, let's just hope the Cylons don't notice.


If you wanted to houserule that Negotiations and Test the Limits don't work before the fleet returns, you could do so and be reasonably justified that they should work that way. Letting Negotiations work when both basestars are in play I think is intentional and a nice bonus for the humans if they can line it up.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
InfoCynic wrote:
A lot of this seems to be thinking that if you can't do everything on a card, you can't use it at all. Remember that's not how BSG works:
I was wondering if any exceptions applied here. However, we may not get them due to Tim Uren no longer being with FFG.

Exceptions that are explicitly stated, such as you can't choose a character in the Brig if he's already there. You have to at least try to choose a valid target first. However, if the President gets Brigged and is already there, then I believe that's OK as a choice, even if it may be null effect.



InfoCynic wrote:
Negotations:

Q: Does Negotiations prevent activating centurions?
A: ( Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Negotiations have been successful in distracting the centurions, and they will not activate this turn. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)

C'mon people read the UFAQ, that's what it's there for. Obviously if cents don't active neither do OFs.
Well, Pegasus rulebook has always considered them to be different than heavies/cents. Since cents were linked to Heavy activations which was space, I figured OF being on NC and not space (since you resolve them when the fleets aren't back yet) may be some sort of exception. [shrug]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Star Fox
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Keep busy to keep happy.
badge
If you have fun, then even if you lose you still win!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Test the Limits:
Sure, play it before the fleet gets back and get the FTL. Good trick to do, I recommend this

Why? After Galactica returns the admiral can choose to jump the fleet and end the game at any time they want when playing NC. Why bother playing a card for a jump activation when it is meaningless after the NC phase?

I agree that you COULD play it if you wanted to, but it's a waste of an action and a waste of a card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're a Cylon leader trying to damage Galactica.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Star Fox
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Keep busy to keep happy.
badge
If you have fun, then even if you lose you still win!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You'd have to do that after the fleet returns. Galactica can't be damaged until then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Bussema
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why play before? To get the fleet back. Maybe you only have 2 civilian ships left and they're prepped already.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Star Fox
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Keep busy to keep happy.
badge
If you have fun, then even if you lose you still win!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh yeah, good point.

In my experience though, it's never happened. Theres usually a lot of civilians to save and it's always taken far longer to prep them than it's taken for Galactica to come back.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.