Steffen Onkes
Germany
Norden
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card says that the chosen character adds the top two cards of his deck to his hands. It is not worded to draw those cards. Is this a bypass to the if you have to draw cards and you have none or not enough then you die-rule?

If not, than this is also a funny PvP-Card to potentially get rid of nasty companions devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Enden
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OnkelZorni wrote:
The card says that the chosen character adds the top two cards of his deck to his hands. It is not worded to draw those cards. Is this a bypass to the if you have to draw cards and you have none or not enough then you die-rule?

If not, than this is also a funny PvP-Card to potentially get rid of nasty companions devil


No, it doesn't bypass that rule. If you play Restoration with only 1 or 2 cards in your deck, it will kill you. See this FAQ: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gk#v5748eaic9rlt
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also in the new rulebook, death isn't "drawing" a card. It is any action of that requires removing a card from your character deck when there isn't one.

Rulebook v3 p13 wrote:
Dying
If, for any reason, you are ever required to remove one or more cards from your deck and you don’t have enough cards, your character dies.


Restoration can kill you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Also in the new rulebook, death isn't "drawing" a card. It is any action of that requires removing a card from your character deck when there isn't one.

Rulebook v3 p13 wrote:
Dying
If, for any reason, you are ever required to remove one or more cards from your deck and you don’t have enough cards, your character dies.


Restoration can kill you.


So, basically, you can Restore the living sh$t out of someone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tristan Hall
England
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
LIFEFORM - LIVE NOW ON KICKSTARTER!!!
badge
LIFEFORM - LIVE NOW ON KICKSTARTER!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Also in the new rulebook, death isn't "drawing" a card. It is any action of that requires removing a card from your character deck when there isn't one.

Rulebook v3 p13 wrote:
Dying
If, for any reason, you are ever required to remove one or more cards from your deck and you don’t have enough cards, your character dies.


Restoration can kill you.


So, basically, you can Restore the living sh$t out of someone.



Similar things have been known to happen.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P Clostermann
msg tools
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Also in the new rulebook, death isn't "drawing" a card. It is any action of that requires removing a card from your character deck when there isn't one.

Rulebook v3 p13 wrote:
Dying
If, for any reason, you are ever required to remove one or more cards from your deck and you don’t have enough cards, your character dies.


Restoration can kill you.


I don't read Restoration that way. ". . . add the top 2 cards of his deck to his hand" does not look like "required to remove" 2 cards for which failure equals death.

The only cards to be removed are the (implicitly existent) top two from his draw deck. No *negative or non-existent hit point* cards are ordered for removal.

If there is only one card in the draw deck, I'd say that the set "the top two cards" consists of that one card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel GOUSSET
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, you could read it that way... You would just be wrong.

No "you MAY", no "UP to 2 top cards", the requirement is there, so is the death.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P Clostermann
msg tools
It seems, colloquially, an abstract reference to "the top two" is satisfied by "one" when there exists only one in that specific situation. "Q: List the two outermost planets of the star system you are visiting today. A: There is only this one planet 'Vulcan' for this one, so 'Vulcan' is the answer that totally satisfies your request." If there is a law to comply with this request, is the law satisfied? It would not be satisfied with a more direct "List two unique planets." [Please assume a dystopian future content with unjust laws but committed to its language.]

Is the requirement to move "the top two cards of his deck" defined in our specific situation as moving one card or two? Is the reduction from an abstract general two to a specific one before, or during, the character's review to see whether he can comply with removal requirements? Perhaps, he is required to move only one card because that is now exactly the effect of Restoration as defined for the specific situation.

Also relevant from the FAQ:
Quote:
"If a card instructs you to do something impossible, such as examine a card in an empty deck, ignore that instruction. If a card tells you to do something with a specific number of cards, and there aren't that many cards available, use as many as there are. For example, if you're told to draw 4 cards from a deck that has only 3 cards, draw the 3 cards. (Regardless of this, if you need to remove any number of cards from your deck and don't have enough, your character dies; if you need to remove any number of cards from the blessings deck and don't have enough, you lose the scenario.)"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Len Luczkowski
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you can't draw up, you die. It's not an impossible situation that you can ignore because technically you could not draw up to the proper number at the end of your turn.

They should have called the card "Leeches" instead. Maybe the medieval doctor will help you (two extra cards in your hand), but you're bleeding out pretty badly to get that help (two extra cards closer to perma-death). goo This card seems so narrowly case-specific to the point of uselessness.

I love the game overall. We are clearing out the Fortress of Stone Giants and, generally, I am happy with the upgrades out there.

But I'd really like to see the game designers play-test their cards more, especially with the new campaign they are launching. Maybe they were working on a severe deadline, and didn't have the time they needed to spend. There are a lot of factors in publishing that could have caused hastily written cards. Plus, nobody's perfect.

Still, a card this late in the campaign and not considered a basic makes the publishing look kind of sloppy. To make it worse, it's a spell card, and they seem even less frequent in our boon draws in this recent xp.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, Restoration is the most powerful card in the game. At least for now. If you combine it with some other cards you can become worth of having a blessing named after you.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2qr41?Restoration

Of course you'll see they are going to errata the card to fix that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Len Luczkowski
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Actually, Restoration is the most powerful card in the game. At least for now. If you combine it with some other cards you can become worth of having a blessing named after you.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2qr41?Restoration

Of course you'll see they are going to errata the card to fix that.


Looks like they fixed all that up with some errata. Twas a neat conversation on Paizo, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.