Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Breaking the Chains: War in the South China Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: What is the intent of rule 11.24? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hendrik Neumann
Germany
Braunschweig
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 11.24 (p. 15) says "After a player has had a chance to place a chit on a future turn, and declined, he can then turn upright any chit of his that is face down on the current turn and thereby reveal it for play."

I am curious why I have to DECLINE placing a chit for a future turn to activate one for the current turn. I cannot place chits on consecutive turns anyway, so this ruling seems redundant to me. Or am I missing something here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gorkowski
msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Hendrik

You seem to have understood the rule correctly and, yes, it may be redundant. As you deduce, the idea is that you can't play chits on consecutive turns. So, it's probably overkill on my part to add "and declined," but I've been burned by rules lawyers before and so sometimes over do it to make my point.

Thanks
John
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hendrik Neumann
Germany
Braunschweig
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clarifying that for me, John! Glad I understood the rules correctly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.