Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Fleet: Arctic Bounty» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sundry Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Condon
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As I've said in other forums, I'm trying to get the rules down pat before our game on Saturday. Quite a few have been answered, but some still remain.

For the Tuna draw effect, does this supervene the normal draw 2 keep 1 rule, or in addition to it? (I would assume the former, as drawing 2, keeping 1 and then drawing another 2 seems really powerful for a single license.) How does it affect other license draw effects?

With Salmon licenses, can you tuck some of hte cards drawn and keep some, or is it an all or nothing deal?

This may be a simpleton question, but if you have additional launches (such as Cod) but are still limited to one captain (as you haven’t gotten that bonus yet), you can launch boats and just have them SIT THERE, correct? I realize they wouldn’t catch fish as they are not captained, but I saw no reason to say you couldn’t.

Could someone explain the following to me: * 1 trade max or anything else in the art of fishing (as found in the comprehensive phase breakdown.)

I realize you can’t trade away more than 1 crate on a processing license for a whole lot of cards (which would be ridiculous), but is there any other stipulations in this rule that I am not seeing? Is there a different way to trade crates, and that you are limited to choosing one or the other for a hard limit of 1 trade per turn, not 1 trade per type of trade per turn?

(I’m not sure offhand what else uses the ‘trade’ terminology, but I suppose it’s theoretically out there.)

Distinction between Dock and Bay cards.
Do I have this right?:
Dock cards: (Salty Captain, Inuit Fisherman, Artisan Fisherman, Tug Boat, First Mate, House Boat.)
Bay Cards: (Gone Fishin’, Crewman, Salvage Yard, Trophies, Crab Meeples, Trophy Cards.)

Other than strict memorization, how can you tell the difference between a dock card and a bay card?

Same with standard/premium licenses? (It would have been nice for a symbol or different color of art or something, but I suppose those lazy Canadian licenseers used the same paper each time. )

One thing that’s confusing me on setup is the non-distinction between adding/removing License CARDS or License TYPES.
Ex.
Setup(Arctic Bounty): Select any combination of FIVE Standard license and matching Boat Cards, as well as TWO Premium licenses and matching boat cards.
Alright, the above has me to believe that they are talking about the full complement of License TYPES. (Because having a game with only seven literal license cards would be short indeed!)

So for 6 players, are we adding Four different License TYPES? I would assume so, but I’ve been wrong on this point so far.

For processing vessel, -must- you choose to process some crates from some boats and not others? Is this the same with Oyster licenses?

Hope I haven't been too exhausting. Any help is appreciated.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
roufus wrote:
As I've said in other forums, I'm trying to get the rules down pat before our game on Saturday. Quite a few have been answered, but some still remain.

For the Tuna draw effect, does this supervene the normal draw 2 keep 1 rule, or in addition to it? (I would assume the former, as drawing 2, keeping 1 and then drawing another 2 seems really powerful for a single license.) How does it affect other license draw effects?

It replaces it. So instead of draw 2 keep 1, it is draw 2 keep both. I don't know the new cards well enough off the top of my head but it is explained int he rules how these interact.

Quote:
With Salmon licenses, can you tuck some of hte cards drawn and keep some, or is it an all or nothing deal?

You can mix and match as stated in the rules.

Quote:
This may be a simpleton question, but if you have additional launches (such as Cod) but are still limited to one captain (as you haven’t gotten that bonus yet), you can launch boats and just have them SIT THERE, correct? I realize they wouldn’t catch fish as they are not captained, but I saw no reason to say you couldn’t.

Right, they would just sit there until captained. They count for launched boats and anything that might trigger.

Quote:
Could someone explain the following to me: * 1 trade max or anything else in the art of fishing (as found in the comprehensive phase breakdown.)

I realize you can’t trade away more than 1 crate on a processing license for a whole lot of cards (which would be ridiculous), but is there any other stipulations in this rule that I am not seeing? Is there a different way to trade crates, and that you are limited to choosing one or the other for a hard limit of 1 trade per turn, not 1 trade per type of trade per turn?

(I’m not sure offhand what else uses the ‘trade’ terminology, but I suppose it’s theoretically out there.)

I need to look this up. Casino has a "trade" in that you are betting and I thought one of the new cards.

ETA: From what I can tell you can trade one max per card type. So one for Processing, one for Casino, etc. (if there is an etc.). I don't know if these are called trading, but it happens during the trading phase.

Quote:
Distinction between Dock and Bay cards.
Do I have this right?:
Dock cards: (Salty Captain, Inuit Fisherman, Artisan Fisherman, Tug Boat, First Mate, House Boat.)
Bay Cards: (Gone Fishin’, Crewman, Salvage Yard, Trophies, Crab Meeples, Trophy Cards.)

Other than strict memorization, how can you tell the difference between a dock card and a bay card?

I wish they would have done something different between these cards. The problem is the "distinction" came about in Arctic Bounty but was retroactively applied. The only distinction I have picked out is Dock cards cost you money whereas Bay cards are free. So all bay cards have no money value in the top left corner, except Gone Fishin' - which shows a different icon representing no cost.

Quote:
Same with standard/premium licenses? (It would have been nice for a symbol or different color of art or something, but I suppose those lazy Canadian licenseers used the same paper each time. )

Just need to know the difference. All premium have only 3 copies of licenses whereas standard have 4. But some that have 4 are also special like the salvage yard.

Quote:
One thing that’s confusing me on setup is the non-distinction between adding/removing License CARDS or License TYPES.
Ex.
Setup(Arctic Bounty): Select any combination of FIVE Standard license and matching Boat Cards, as well as TWO Premium licenses and matching boat cards.
Alright, the above has me to believe that they are talking about the full complement of License TYPES. (Because having a game with only seven literal license cards would be short indeed!)

So for 6 players, are we adding Four different License TYPES? I would assume so, but I’ve been wrong on this point so far.

It is license types. Just use the base game as an example: Standard: Cod, Shrimp, Tuna, Processing Vessel, Lobster (that's 5) / Premium: King Crab, Fishermen's Pub (that's 2). That is for up to 4 players. So for each additional player add 1 standard and 1 premium TYPE.

So for 6 players you have 7 standard license types and 4 premium license types.

Quote:
For processing vessel, -must- you choose to process some crates from some boats and not others? Is this the same with Oyster licenses?

Hope I haven't been too exhausting. Any help is appreciated.

Each boat is an individual choice. So I always process boats with 4, sometimes with 3, and rarely with 1 or 2 crates unless it is still early and I can get caught up. Or just desperate for cash.
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Moller
United States
Lincoln
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
roufus wrote:
For the Tuna draw effect, does this supervene the normal draw 2 keep 1 rule, or in addition to it? (I would assume the former, as drawing 2, keeping 1 and then drawing another 2 seems really powerful for a single license.) How does it affect other license draw effects?


You stated it correctly. Instead of drawing 2, keeping one, just draw 2, keep both. also, note that if you have a 2nd license, you draw 3 and discard ANY one, possibly including a different card in your hand you already had. This license does not affect any other card draws that I'm aware of.

roufus wrote:
With Salmon licenses, can you tuck some of hte cards drawn and keep some, or is it an all or nothing deal?


You may mix and match which cards you keep in hand and which you tuck.

roufus wrote:
This may be a simpleton question, but if you have additional launches (such as Cod) but are still limited to one captain (as you haven’t gotten that bonus yet), you can launch boats and just have them SIT THERE, correct? I realize they wouldn’t catch fish as they are not captained, but I saw no reason to say you couldn’t.


Yup, you can launch boats and not captain them. They're separate actions, certainly viable strategy as well to at least get the points for the boats.

roufus wrote:
Could someone explain the following to me: * 1 trade max or anything else in the art of fishing (as found in the comprehensive phase breakdown.)

I realize you can’t trade away more than 1 crate on a processing license for a whole lot of cards (which would be ridiculous), but is there any other stipulations in this rule that I am not seeing? Is there a different way to trade crates, and that you are limited to choosing one or the other for a hard limit of 1 trade per turn, not 1 trade per type of trade per turn?

(I’m not sure offhand what else uses the ‘trade’ terminology, but I suppose it’s theoretically out there.)


I'm not confident I'm understanding this question completely, but simply put, once you've processed crate(s), you may turn in up to 1 per turn for a number of cards (depends on how many Processing Licenses you own). The rest can be used for money at any point money is needed for purchases.

roufus wrote:
Distinction between Dock and Bay cards.
Do I have this right?:
Dock cards: (Salty Captain, Inuit Fisherman, Artisan Fisherman, Tug Boat, First Mate, House Boat.)
Bay Cards: (Gone Fishin’, Crewman, Salvage Yard, Trophies, Crab Meeples, Trophy Cards.)

Other than strict memorization, how can you tell the difference between a dock card and a bay card?


I'm not aware of a specific way, other than noting that dock cards have a cost and also possibly a point value, whereas Bay Cards are generally just an ability or special bonus (exception: Salvage Yard is a Bay Card and has a cost).

roufus wrote:
Same with standard/premium licenses? (It would have been nice for a symbol or different color of art or something, but I suppose those lazy Canadian licenseers used the same paper each time. )


Premium licenses cost $10 minimum, with the lone exception being the DFO licenses.

roufus wrote:
One thing that’s confusing me on setup is the non-distinction between adding/removing License CARDS or License TYPES.
Ex.
Setup(Arctic Bounty): Select any combination of FIVE Standard license and matching Boat Cards, as well as TWO Premium licenses and matching boat cards.
Alright, the above has me to believe that they are talking about the full complement of License TYPES. (Because having a game with only seven literal license cards would be short indeed!)

So for 6 players, are we adding Four different License TYPES? I would assume so, but I’ve been wrong on this point so far.


The beginning setup, which I bolded to note it, is what you always do first when setting up any game of Fleet (I forget if there's an exception for the solo and 2-player variant). THEN you add 4 additional licenses, 2 standard and 2 premium (as well as the accompanying boat cards, if any) for a 6-player game. Also, for 5/6 player games, be sure to add the Charter Boat cards.

roufus wrote:
For processing vessel, -must- you choose to process some crates from some boats and not others? Is this the same with Oyster licenses?


No, you don't have to process anything if you don't want to, same with oysters.
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Condon
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mospinach wrote:
roufus wrote:

[q="roufus"]For processing vessel, -must- you choose to process some crates from some boats and not others? Is this the same with Oyster licenses?


No, you don't have to process anything if you don't want to, same with oysters.

Most of these answers were as expected, but reading essentially four rulebooks at once (Fleet + Arctic + 2 Bonus sheets) made me have to verify a few things.

For the above, I wasn't asking if you could refuse to do it, but if you could move crates from some boats and not others on the same turn. The verbiage could be interpreted as an all-or-nothing deal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Pinchback
United States
Leonard
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
roufus wrote:
mospinach wrote:
roufus wrote:

[q="roufus"]For processing vessel, -must- you choose to process some crates from some boats and not others? Is this the same with Oyster licenses?


No, you don't have to process anything if you don't want to, same with oysters.

Most of these answers were as expected, but reading essentially four rulebooks at once (Fleet + Arctic + 2 Bonus sheets) made me have to verify a few things.

For the above, I wasn't asking if you could refuse to do it, but if you could move crates from some boats and not others on the same turn. The verbiage could be interpreted as an all-or-nothing deal.

You do not have to remove creates from all boats. You can pick one, some or all.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.