Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Linko!» Forums » Rules

Subject: jokers played on their own rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve K
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
...
badge
...
Avatar
The official English rules say:

Quote:
The joker card ... Played by itself, it has the highest value on the table.


Since the numbered cards have value 1-13, I initially took this to mean that jokers on their own were effectively value 14, but the phrase used in the rules leaves another interpretation. A sidebar in the rules also says:

Quote:
Played by itself = highest card (>13)


Consider this case:

Mike plays a single 3 card.
Mary plays a single joker (so Mike's card gets 'snatched')
Pete now plays a single joker. What happens?

a) nothing - because Pete's single joker is the same value as Mary's single joker?

b) Mary's joker is 'snatched', because Pete's joker "has the highest value on the table" - that is - higher than every other card on the table (including Mary's joker)?

What was the intended interpretation? Are the German rules more explicit here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Fakkeldij
Netherlands
Beverwijk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question.

The German rules area bit different.
The English rules say: "Played by itself, it has the highest value on the table." (speaking about one joker card)
The German rules: "Ohne Zahlenkarten sind sie die höchsten Karten im Spiel." (speaking about jokers in general)
Which lead to a difference IMO:
In English a joker can be worth 14 or 15 or even more.
In German it would mean all jokers on the table are the same value (=14)

Would be nice to get an official answer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve K
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
...
badge
...
Avatar
Thanks. The different wording of the German rules suggest I should probably continue playing as "all wildcards have the same value" until I discover otherwise.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philipp Sprick
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Steve,

"all wildcards have the same value" is completely correct.

Best regards from Ravensburg
Philipp
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve K
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
...
badge
...
Avatar
Philipp, many thanks for an official confirmation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.