Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Nations» Forums » Rules

Subject: Not enough resources for an event... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jean-Roger Duvauchelle
France
PARIS
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you don't have enough resources for an event, do you lose 1 PV and the difference in books as for a result of a war or famine ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Asbjørn Lie Parmer
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugh G. Rection
United States
La Mesa
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but, if you already lost a VP for not having enough of that resource during Production (to pay for military or something), then you don't lose the VP again.

Rulebook Sidebar, Page 19 wrote:
If you can’t pay the required amount of Food you must pay what you can, lose 1 VP and lose as many Books as you could not pay. It is only possible to lose at most 1 VP per round per resource.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Veehyvez
Canada
Laval
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hugh_G_Rection wrote:
Yes, but, if you already lost a VP for not having enough of that resource during Production (to pay for military or something), then you don't lose the VP again.

Rulebook Sidebar, Page 19 wrote:
If you can’t pay the required amount of Food you must pay what you can, lose 1 VP and lose as many Books as you could not pay. It is only possible to lose at most 1 VP per round per resource.


So just to clarify the maximum number of vp a player can lose in 1 round is 4vp
1 for war, 1 for gold, 1 for ore, 1 for food (lets say the player has no books and everything rolls over from one resource to the other and obviously they have the worst nation ever made)

is that right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
You can't handle the truth?
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nezrul wrote:
Hugh_G_Rection wrote:
Yes, but, if you already lost a VP for not having enough of that resource during Production (to pay for military or something), then you don't lose the VP again.

Rulebook Sidebar, Page 19 wrote:
If you can’t pay the required amount of Food you must pay what you can, lose 1 VP and lose as many Books as you could not pay. It is only possible to lose at most 1 VP per round per resource.


So just to clarify the maximum number of vp a player can lose in 1 round is 4vp
1 for war, 1 for gold, 1 for ore, 1 for food (lets say the player has no books and everything rolls over from one resource to the other and obviously they have the worst nation ever made)

is that right?
No books and you need to lose books? Lose another VP.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Veehyvez
Canada
Laval
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
crambaza wrote:
Nezrul wrote:
Hugh_G_Rection wrote:
Yes, but, if you already lost a VP for not having enough of that resource during Production (to pay for military or something), then you don't lose the VP again.

Rulebook Sidebar, Page 19 wrote:
If you can’t pay the required amount of Food you must pay what you can, lose 1 VP and lose as many Books as you could not pay. It is only possible to lose at most 1 VP per round per resource.


So just to clarify the maximum number of vp a player can lose in 1 round is 4vp
1 for war, 1 for gold, 1 for ore, 1 for food (lets say the player has no books and everything rolls over from one resource to the other and obviously they have the worst nation ever made)

is that right?
No books and you need to lose books? Lose another VP.


ok cool just checking, so basically for another example.
player has 3 food, 2 ore, 0 gold and 1 book

lets just say the player has to pay food and he needs to pay 6 but only has 3 so he loses a point for not having enough resources, gets rid of his 3food then he has to lower his books by 3, so he lowers his books by 1 so hits zero but he still has to pay 2 books so he loses a point and then he has to lose 2 resources so he gets rid of his 2 ore. In total he lost 2 VP.

and the worst worst case scenario where he has nothing and ends in a very bad string of things he can potentially lose 7 points

1 for each type of resource = 3, 1 for each time he couldnt pay the books = 3 and 1 more if he lost the war

for a grand total of 7?


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kamber
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nezrul wrote:

ok cool just checking, so basically for another example.
player has 3 food, 2 ore, 0 gold and 1 book

lets just say the player has to pay food and he needs to pay 6 but only has 3 so he loses a point for not having enough resources, gets rid of his 3food then he has to lower his books by 3, so he lowers his books by 1 so hits zero but he still has to pay 2 books so he loses a point and then he has to lose 2 resources so he gets rid of his 2 ore. In total he lost 2 VP.

and the worst worst case scenario where he has nothing and ends in a very bad string of things he can potentially lose 7 points

1 for each type of resource = 3, 1 for each time he couldnt pay the books = 3 and 1 more if he lost the war

for a grand total of 7?




Books are considered a resource (that is why you must pay a VP when you run out). Like the other resources, you can only pay that VP penalty once. So a grand total of 5 (1 for war, 1 for ore, 1 for food, 1 for coins and 1 for books).

As a side remark: Books are a resource in all other cases too, so you can pay golden ages with books. I tend to forget this during the game, and end up paying a resource I need more than books.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugh G. Rection
United States
La Mesa
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dulkal wrote:
As a side remark: Books are a resource in all other cases too, so you can pay golden ages with books. I tend to forget this during the game, and end up paying a resource I need more than books.


That is helpful to know!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marco hong kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
In fact, if not counting any event that directly lose vp, a player can lose a maximum of 6 vp, as below:

1vp for revolt
1vp for each resource lacking (gold, ore, food, books), a total of 4 vp
1vp for war

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Dresser
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
marco2012 wrote:
In fact, if not counting any event that directly lose vp, a player can lose a maximum of 6 vp, as below:

1vp for revolt
1vp for each resource lacking (gold, ore, food, books), a total of 4 vp
1vp for war



What if you're out of vp tokens and you lose a vp?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.