Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Trains» Forums » General

Subject: Have you ever run out of waste? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
L Long
United States
Graford
Texas
flag msg tools
Has anyone run out of waste and if so what did you do about it?

We haven't run out but came really close a time or two which got me to thinking about it.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes with four players. The stack was empty for a player turn or two I believe.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Duke
United Kingdom
Fleet
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules do cover running out of waste: you can still do things that would normally cause you to take waste cards, but you can ignore that part of the action.

Rules p6 wrote:
... If some of the card’s effects cannot be applied, you cannot apply any of the effects. There is a single exception to this rule, in that if a card requires that you gain Waste, and there are no Waste cards left in the Waste deck, you may still apply the other effects.
and
Rules p9 wrote:
Waste
This means you have to take a Waste card from the Supply and place it into your “gained cards” area. Waste cards are a burden. You can’t do anything with them and they take up space in your deck. If there are no more Waste cards in the Supply, you do not have to take a Waste card. [underline added]

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Eugene
Oregon
msg tools
Avatar
mb
A few times. When the games run long.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wally Jones
United States
Windermere
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.

We have always had players that manage their waste very well, so there is always waste to draw.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L Long
United States
Graford
Texas
flag msg tools
Thanks....I didn't realize it was in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Marshall
United Kingdom
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, yet to see them run out
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I only got 65 Waste cards in my set. I guess it doesn't really matter, but is the rulebook simply wrong as to how many cards I should have?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zen
Japan
Kyoto
flag msg tools
youtube.com/neatozen
badge
follow me on twitter: @zenxacred
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trump wrote:
I only got 65 Waste cards in my set. I guess it doesn't really matter, but is the rulebook simply wrong as to how many cards I should have?


You should have 70.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
eekamouse wrote:
Yes with four players. The stack was empty for a player turn or two I believe.


Same here. We once ran out of the Waste deck in a 4-player game, but the game ended a turn or two after we did.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.