Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Myth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Optional Ammo rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Ham
Malta
Marsalforn
Gozo, Malta
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On cards like tumble, where ammo use is "optional" does that mean if you don't use ammo, you do an attack without the extra dice that the bow provides? Presumably yes, just making sure...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remi Bureau
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ammo is optional because you could have a melee weapon and still use the card.
If you have a bow equiped, and no ammo, you can't make the attack.

You could still do the flip though...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Patterson
United States
Calimesa
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Here is the card explanation from the hero deck reference guide:

"Tumble
(Optional - Ammo) Vaults 3 squares and attacks 1 target.
+1 Damage if Adjacent. Not Considered a Move.
This Reaction card allows the Archer to move 3 squares for free and
then make an attack. If the desired target is at range the Archer must
spend an Ammo card to perform the attack. If the target is adjacent
after the move the Archer adds +1 damage to her attack. The attack
does not require ammo and can be made with her base dice pool.
This card can be used for just the movement component, if there is
nothing to attack."

It sounds like ammo would have to be used to attack at range but not adjacent. I would assume that you wouldn't use the bow's bonuses for adjacent attacks because it is list as a ranged weapon. If you had equipped a melee weapon then you could use it's bonuses, but not attack at range.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Ham
Malta
Marsalforn
Gozo, Malta
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Say, where can I find this hero deck reference guide?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remi Bureau
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't think you could attack with your fists, but maybe you can.

My understanding of the text was that if you used your bow (even if adjacent), you need an arrow.

Message to everyone, the descriptions in the reference document aren't all accurate, so they may still change.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magic Pink
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
rahdo wrote:
Say, where can I find this hero deck reference guide?


http://megacongames.com/games/myth/
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Ham
Malta
Marsalforn
Gozo, Malta
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oops thought i downloaded everything from that page... missed one!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Patterson
United States
Calimesa
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
They've been updating the that page frequently, so it probably just wasn't up yet the last time you looked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Endevor Rovedne
France
le pré saint gervais
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I will give a spoiler here, you HAVE to use an ammo if you use a bow with this card, but in a future expansion the "archer" will be able to choose a 2 weapon fighting specialisation, these optionnal ammo mean you will still be able to use this card, orion's tear won't allow that for example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Taraba
United States
Lake in the Hills
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rahdo wrote:
oops thought i downloaded everything from that page... missed one!


I was getting a weird thing happen on that page yesterday where I tried to download one thing and it redownloaded the last thing instead. One time it gave me the new thing and also redownloaded the last thing from just one click. Maybe you had that happen to you too.

I'm kind of saddened that that document is almost essential to figuring out the game and wasn't included in the box. Our game last night didn't have so many questions come out of things covered in the rules as they came out of "what does 'optional +shadow touch' mean? Does that go before or after this card?" and "what does cancel ongoing effect mean?" It comes down to shorthand used by the designers in the text of the card and a lack of information explaining that shorthand. I wasn't sure where the ammo was suppose to go. I wasn't sure if the ongoing effect was suppose to consume q spot every turn and I don't remember reading that in the rules. Maybe I'll find it in my second read through. Well, third if you count the old rules they sent out to backers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lowle
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Arrrrrh!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
taraba wrote:
Well, third if you count the old rules they sent out to backers.

That was only half (a third?) of the rules and they got a lot of comments on it, which might be why they never showed us the rest until it was printed (which is why a lot of the ambiguity and typos are in the last 2/3 of the book).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.