Scott
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey gang,

I'm just getting into this game; I've ordered it, but haven't played it yet. (I have a lot of experience with complex/challenging solo-able games, such as Mage Knight, Space Empires 4X, and Rune Age.)

I expect I'll be playing this game solo for the most part. If I want more complexity and difficulty is it worth learning the game and playing from the start with two decks? (This is what I've grown accustomed to doing in the above listed games.)

As a solo player, is the game more or less difficult/interesting if you play 'coop' with two decks? Do the individual scenarios scale depending on the number of 'players'?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marlene Thornstrom
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I find it much easier to play with two decks and most of the adventures seem to be designed with 2P in mind. I like that I get to use a wider variety of cards.

Playing with one deck is more of a challenge.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Howard
United States
Marina del Rey
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Oftentimes it seems like 2-players is the "sweet spot" in a lot of quests. In the early quests, the trend was that the more players you had, the easier the quest was. Though, that's not always the case (some recent scenarios are quite the opposite of that!).

1-Deck solo players find a good challenge with this game since your deck will need to be able to do a bit of everything well. Playing "two handed" allows you to specialize each deck a bit more (e.g.: one deck focuses more on questing, the other on combat). That's not to say that it's 'easy' with 2 players, since you'll be revealing more encounter cards each turn (this is the primary scaling factor). Furthermore, playing with 2 or more players (or decks) allow you to take advantage of tactics and keywords that are useless in 1-Deck solo games (ranged, sentinel, etc).