Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mainstay and the Human Shield rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Artifice Knight
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Situation. Mainstay, trying to protect his weakening team, uses Human Shield and then his super power Guard. Now all the Sentinels have a damage reduction of one. Since Mainstay is currently wearing his chain, this gives him a total damage reduction of 2. The Naturalist and Knyfe, not being Sentinels, do not benefit at all from the Guard maneuver.

The villain manages to do 3 damage to every hero.

The question is, how much damage does Mainstay take? For the damage targeting Knyfe and Naturalist that gets redirected, it'll go through his Guard+Chain and he'll only take 1 damage for each of them, and another damage for himself. (3 so far). For his fellow sentinels though, each of them also can reduce damage that is going to them. Do they benefit from Guard and *then* damage is transfered to Mainstay, reducing it by 2 for a total of nothing? Or does he take an additional 3 damage protecting his teammates?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Watson
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
ArtificeKnight wrote:
Situation. Mainstay, trying to protect his weakening team, uses Human Shield and then his super power Guard. Now all the Sentinels have a damage reduction of one. Since Mainstay is currently wearing his chain, this gives him a total damage reduction of 2. The Naturalist and Knyfe, not being Sentinels, do not benefit at all from the Guard maneuver.

The villain manages to do 3 damage to every hero.

The question is, how much damage does Mainstay take? For the damage targeting Knyfe and Naturalist that gets redirected, it'll go through his Guard+Chain and he'll only take 1 damage for each of them, and another damage for himself. (3 so far). For his fellow sentinels though, each of them also can reduce damage that is going to them. Do they benefit from Guard and *then* damage is transfered to Mainstay, reducing it by 2 for a total of nothing? Or does he take an additional 3 damage protecting his teammates?


Unless very specifically noted (i,.e. Smoke Bombs) damage reductions only apply to the final target so Mainstay would take 6 instances of 1 damage.

The same applies to target specific damage increases, such as Nemesis. If that attack is redirected, the +1 would also go away.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Artifice Knight
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Thank you so much for the response! Thats how we'd been playing it, mostly because having the same Guard action count for double seemed a little silly, but given how fragile the team is I figured any help would be good.

And that sounds like we've been playing the interaction between Guard and Calignious Form wrong. Since the damage is redirected from Writhe to another villain and he's *not* the final target, then Guard won't lower that damage before its transferred (which, in my opinion, is great news).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.