Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Strategy

Subject: List for an upcoming game this week rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Downey
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
I'm completely new to STAW having only played 2 games so far. My last game looked more like a demolition derby with me bumping into everything on the board. On the other hand my opponent had a much better grasp of the movement templates which was all the more embarrassing. Last weeks list was a dual battleship list with an attack ship. I just couldn't keep the battleships in position to do a whole lot once they got their first shots in (which took out the Enterprise-D).

So here's my revamped list. Feel free to pick it apart - I'm basically going by what sounds good on the card text Kinda like picking winners in football based on who has the cooler uniforms (which worked out for me this year as the Seahawks have awesome uniforms).

4th Division Battleship
Gul Dukat
Boheeka
Photon Torpedoes
Dorsal Array
United Forces

5th Wing Patrol Ship
Glenon
Phased Polaron Beam
Rax

Attack Ship
Luaran
Phased Polaron Beam
Breen Aide

Total points: 110 (10 extra due to United forces)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon NyD

Denver
Colorado
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
With exception to the photon torpedoes on the battleship, I like the list. I would get rid of the photons, change to the named battleship, and add another Dorsal Array if you can borrow it. You'll find that Gul Dukat and Boheeka work very well together.

The only thing I might suggest is that you pick a different squad that has very close to the same maneuver dials. I've taught a few people to fly very well with Klingons (almost every ship has the same maneuvers). You space 3 of them in a triangle with the width of a maneuver template between all of them, then pick the same maneuver for each one. They shouldn't ever bump into each other if you do this.