Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions midway through first play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J E
msg tools
1. The rulebook says there are only 6 action rounds in the early war and then 7 in mid and late war. What is the 8th action round space on the action round track for? (deluxe edition)

2. The Marshal Plan Card says place influence in any non-USSR controlled countries... Do the standard influence spreading rules apply here? In other words, the countries selected must be adjacent to countries that already have influence? Many of the cards have "place influence" instructions, so this was a big question during the game. The rulebook says the text on the cards overrides the rulebook, but not sure in this case if you can place influence just anywhere you want.

3. At the start of turn 4, are the discarded early war cards reshuffled in with the mid-war cards or is the discard pile only reshuffled when the deck is exhausted?

4. When a card is played for its ops points and invokes an event for your opponent, should the card be removed from the game if it has an asterisk (since the event was triggered) even though the card was played for ops points?

5. The NORAD card has an asterisk which according to the rulebook means it is removed from the game after play. However, it does not say "Remove from play if used as an event" in red letters like other cards with the asterisk. So should this card be removed or go back to the discard pile?

6. Does the Che card increase the DEFCON status for each of the two coups if they are both done in battleground countries?

Thanks for any clarification you can provide!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan King
United States
Stockbridge
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
4. Remove the card whose event went off it it had asterisk, not the original card.

5. Remove it from play

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Poutré
Canada
St-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Yes... I still like 'em 35 years later...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eskewj wrote:
1. The rulebook says there are only 6 action rounds in the early war and then 7 in mid and late war. What is the 8th action round space on the action round track for? (deluxe edition)


A US Event in the Late War allows the US to play an 8th action round. Also, a Space Race perk allows the same thing.

eskewj wrote:
2. The Marshal Plan Card says place influence in any non-USSR controlled countries... Do the standard influence spreading rules apply here? In other words, the countries selected must be adjacent to countries that already have influence? Many of the cards have "place influence" instructions, so this was a big question during the game. The rulebook says the text on the cards overrides the rulebook, but not sure in this case if you can place influence just anywhere you want.


Yes, you can basically ignore the influence placement restrictions when an event instructs you to place influence.

eskewj wrote:
3. At the start of turn 4, are the discarded early war cards reshuffled in with the mid-war cards or is the discard pile only reshuffled when the deck is exhausted?

Only when the deck is exhausted.

[q="eskewj"]4. When a card is played for its ops points and invokes an event for your opponent, should the card be removed from the game if it has an asterisk (since the event was triggered) even though the card was played for ops points?


Yes.

eskewj wrote:
5. The NORAD card has an asterisk which according to the rulebook means it is removed from the game after play. However, it does not say "Remove from play if used as an event" in red letters like other cards with the asterisk. So should this card be removed or go back to the discard pile?


NORAD remains face-up close to the players as a reminder of its ongoing effect. There was a misprint for this card along with 2 others in a specific print run of the Deluxe Edition. If it is cancelled by Quagmire later on, it is removed from the game.

eskewj wrote:
6. Does the Che card increase the DEFCON status for each of the two coups if they are both done in battleground?


Yes.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan King
United States
Stockbridge
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3. When deck is exhausted you will read the discarded ones.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacovis
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. One of the Space Race achievements lets you take an 8th Action around, hence the space.

2. "Place X influence" means there is no restriction. If the card says "Place influence as if you had played a X ops card," then you would have to follow the restrictions because influence placed by using OPs is restricted by the rules.

3. Discard is only shuffled when exhausted, but anything left in the deck is shuffled into the mid-War deck.

4. Yes. If the card event can and does occur, if it has an asterisk it is removed from the game.

5. Remove it. See above. I always just use a marker.

6. Yes. Each coup occurs separately.

Cheers!

Edit: ninja
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Marcon wrote:

eskewj wrote:
6. Does the Che card increase the DEFCON status for each of the two coups if they are both done in battleground?


Yes.


The Che card doesn't allow you to attemp coups in Battleground countries.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J E
msg tools
Thanks for all the responses! Good catch on the Che card, mkiefte.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
And anyway, battleground coups decrease DEFCON.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
turbothy wrote:
And anyway, battleground coups decrease DEFCON.


What are you, some kind of rules lawyer?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
I prefer the term "rules enthusiast".
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J E
msg tools
One followup question: so I found in the rules where it says you can ignore the restriction about placing influence adjacent to where you already have influence when doing so as the result of an event (as also stated above). But it is unclear whether or not the cost of placing the influence, when placing due to an event, is effected by control of the opponent. When Ops Points are used to place influence, and your opponent has control, it takes two influence to overcome control until enough influence is placed that the opponent no longer has control. Is the same true if placing influence as the result of an event?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eskewj wrote:
One followup question: so I found in the rules where it says you can ignore the restriction about placing influence adjacent to where you already have influence when doing so as the result of an event (as also stated above). But it is unclear whether or not the cost of placing the influence, when placing due to an event, is effected by control of the opponent. When Ops Points are used to place influence, and your opponent has control, it takes two influence to overcome control until enough influence is placed that the opponent no longer has control. Is the same true if placing influence as the result of an event?


If the event says "Place Influence" then you ignore the cost and placement restrictions. If the event says "Conduct operations as if playing an X-Op card" then you pay the cost and pay attention to whether the place has your influence or if you have influence adjacent.

You take the text on the cards literally.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emil Wachsmuth
msg tools
mb
eskewj wrote:
5. The NORAD card has an asterisk which according to the rulebook means it is removed from the game after play. However, it does not say "Remove from play if used as an event" in red letters like other cards with the asterisk. So should this card be removed or go back to the discard pile?


NORAD* is removed from play after being played as an event, and the same happens AWACS Sale to Saudis*, Yuri and Samantha* and Our Man in Tehran*, who all lack the "remove from play if used as an event" text s well. One note about Our Man in Tehran*: if the prerequisite isn't met (US controls at least 1 country in the Middle East), the event is unplayable and it goes to the discard pile instead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.