Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Intelligence roll modifier rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar

One battle hex is declared in an offensive and it is within enemy AZOI. Nonetheless only offensive air units take part in the battle but their movement to a base, which is within range of the battle hex, did not enter any enemy AZOI. Will the -2 intelligence roll modifier still apply because the air units have to fly to the battle hex, which is in enemy AZOI?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joekong_hk wrote:

One battle hex is declared in an offensive and it is within enemy AZOI. Nonetheless only offensive air units take part in the battle but their movement to a base, which is within range of the battle hex, did not enter any enemy AZOI. Will the -2 intelligence roll modifier still apply because the air units have to fly to the battle hex, which is in enemy AZOI?




No
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar

MarkHerman wrote:
joekong_hk wrote:

One battle hex is declared in an offensive and it is within enemy AZOI. Nonetheless only offensive air units take part in the battle but their movement to a base, which is within range of the battle hex, did not enter any enemy AZOI. Will the -2 intelligence roll modifier still apply because the air units have to fly to the battle hex, which is in enemy AZOI?




No


Thanks for your reply.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar

Another question after reading V3.0 rules.

Under 7.25 PLAY NOTE:

Air/Carrier units that are activated within an enemy ZOI that do not move and declare a battle hex from that location do not trigger the intelligence die roll modifier. It is only triggered if a ZOI has been entered, moved into, through or exited.

What does "declare a battle hex from that location" mean? Do Air/Carrier units have to not participate in a battle from their hex to avoid the intelligence roll modifier? It makes no sense because you activate units to move or attack. Or Air/Carrier units can only support a battle initiated by other units (e.g. AA within their range) so as not to incur the -2 drm?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip Spacek
msg tools
A carrier unit can attack with its airplanes any unit 3 hex (japanese) or 2 hex (american) distant.

The carrier does not move to attack and declare a battle hex, si no AZOI entered to trigger the intel modifier.

It is the same for an air unit not moving ftom its airfield but launching an attack on a hex in its range.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar

Filip Spacek wrote:
A carrier unit can attack with its airplanes any unit 3 hex (japanese) or 2 hex (american) distant.

The carrier does not move to attack and declare a battle hex, si no AZOI entered to trigger the intel modifier.

It is the same for an air unit not moving ftom its airfield but launching an attack on a hex in its range.


Thanks for your explanation.

Excuse my poor English grammar. I connect the verb "declare" to the previous "do not", which leads to my wrong interpretation.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.