Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

War of the Suns» Forums » Rules

Subject: CP, DEP and FEP reset ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luc OLIVIER
msg tools
Hello,
It is written that the RP are set to 0 at the end of the turn.
But what happens to CP, FEP and DEP ?
A player can accumulate them ?
Thanks,
Luc
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lucolivier wrote:
Hello,
It is written that the RP are set to 0 at the end of the turn.
But what happens to CP, FEP and DEP ?
A player can accumulate them ?
Thanks,
Luc


All are set to zero at the end of a turn. No savings!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luc OLIVIER
msg tools
Ok, thanks !
Is it an "official" statement ?
Where is it written in the rules ?
It heard the opposite from some other players
Luc
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course it's not an official answer, I'm not the designer and I don't work for GMT.

But let me make my case.

See this rule:

"5.1.3 – Administration Phase: The sides collect for the turn their
Command Points (CP), Replacement Points (RP), Domestic Equipment
Points (DEP), Foreign Equipment Points (FEP), and Railroad Transport
Points. Reset the River Transport Points markers to their maximum values."

"For the turn" does not make any reference to adding CP, RP, etc that were saved from a previous turn. I believe that pretty strongly implies that they cannot be saved. If they COULD be saved, the CP, RP etc "for the turn" would make a note about ones saved from previous turns.

Also, see under 12.5 (Surrender) this sentence in the second bullet point:

"As for all RP, they are lost if not used by the end of the turn they become available."

So RP cannot be saved.

Now, does it say anywhere in the rules that FEP, CP, DEP etc MAY be saved? Nope.

That's the best I got. But your other players don't have any evidence to support their position, do they?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Li
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think so. It's pretty clear for me.

4.5 – UNUSE D CAPACITIES
Unused Replacement Points, Transport Points, and construction capacities
cannot be accumulated from turn to turn. If not used, they are lost.

Therefore, FEP and DEP can be accumulated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonard To
Hong Kong
Wanchai
n/a
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
All unused capacities cannot be accumulated to the following turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luc OLIVIER
msg tools
Ok thanks it is quite clear now with an official statement from the designer and some many rules references
Luc
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edmond
France
Paris
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Leonard,

Rule 4.5 – UNUSED CAPACITIES - does not forbid Command Points (CP) accumulation.
Are Command Points also reset ?

In my experience, the Japanese after a harsh winter, needs to save Command Points to push in China in a historical way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Li
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems that Leonard To means that everything can not be accumulated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rulx wrote:
Leonard,

Rule 4.5 – UNUSED CAPACITIES - does not forbid Command Points (CP) accumulation.
Are Command Points also reset ?

In my experience, the Japanese after a harsh winter, needs to save Command Points to push in China in a historical way.


Command points definitely reset. They all do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edmond
France
Paris
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Proposed errata

4.5 (addition)
Unused Replacement Points, Transport Points, Command Points (CP) and construction capacities cannot be accumulated from turn to turn. If not used, they are lost.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.