Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

No Retreat! The North African Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Continuation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Spinello
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mb
What is the side that 'steals' initiative by continuing the turn required to do beside pay the 1 sp?

Do they have to move or fight?

Doesn't this just lead to the side with more SP's ending up as the initiative player for the next game turn? Maybe that is the whole point?

John
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The side that continues the offensive, by spending one SP, gets to move and fight first, followed by the other side.

The side that 'steals' the initiative gets to move and fight twice in a row. This double move can launch a devastating counter attack or a great way to extricate yourself from a bad situation.

As the defender, if you can force the attacker to use up the attackers supply (SPs), while maintaining you own defenders supply, then once the attacker is out (or very low) on SPs you can steal the initiative and counter-attack, this will allow you to take the operational and tactical initiative.

When a side is getting low on SPs you have to decide if you need to keep your SPs for the next Game turn, or for target/counterblow markers.

Having no SPs while your enemy has plenty can be terrible, assuming the enemy is strong enough to take advantage. This is a key part of the game...reading the state of the game and managing your SPs well is key to good play.

enjoy

Tim


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.