Popular Tags: [View All]
Kyle Bailey
United States
Carrboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey! Whenever I open a scenario in the vassal module all of the pieces are there, but there is no map. I'm pretty new to vassal, but this is the first time I have run across this particular problem. Is there something more I need to do? Thanks in advance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
NerdofDoom wrote:
Hey! Whenever I open a scenario in the vassal module all of the pieces are there, but there is no map. I'm pretty new to vassal, but this is the first time I have run across this particular problem. Is there something more I need to do? Thanks in advance.

The Vassal module is an effort to install. Follow the information carefully in the Read Me file so you put the mapboard files in the proper folder. It will tell you the path it's looking for as it tries to compile itself.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean halley

Oregon
msg tools
designer
mbmb
Kyle,
I tried to figure out Vassal a few times and finally gave up, so I feel your pain.

An easier option you might consider are the computer versions on AtB, Ghost Divisions, and SoS. I have all three, and they are a nice way to play the game when you lack face-to-face opponents. The computer beats me as often as I beat it.

There is also an on-line component to the games that allows you to play firefights on-line with someone else who owns the same computer version of the game. I have done that once, and it worked really well. The only problem is coordinating playing time with opponents in different time zones and countries.

These computer games might be worth your time as alternative to Vassel. They are sold by Matrix Games.

Take care,
Dean Halley
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse LeBreton
United States
Kingsford
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb