Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Migration: Book II – A Saga of Conflict» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lizard Skunk issue rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Enslow
msg tools
designer
mbmb
I think the lizard needs a "must take another turn". If it stays as a "may", then the new rule that places it back on the previous town. With this I can keep my skunk for 4 turns. With the "must" if you don't move your spirit is removed which I think is fair. THoughts?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Nelson
msg tools
You may have a point, however, it is important to note that 3 wasteland lizards are 3 turns without getting any points. You can have the place locked down, but it doesn't help you if your opponent is dropping 3 rats or jackals outside the lockdown zone.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Enslow
msg tools
designer
mbmb
It really wouldn't be a fun game if I made a 2 player map, stuck a skunk in the middle (and you have only three places you can bass) and proceeded to lizard, place it face down but not activate a second turn (so my PS is not lost, just placed back on the skunk). After 3 turns you would have no way of getting back on the board and I eat it all up. Certainly it's a punk move but a simple rule change from "may take a turn" to "must take a turn" would prevent this issue and if a lizard was turned over and you didn't move from it, you would loose your PS.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Cannon
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
The lizard is not intended to allow you to keep your PS on the previous Town. I see how this works from Liz to Cactus, but not with just the Lizard. Can you explain more clearly where you are seeing this?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Enslow
msg tools
designer
mbmb
Ok.
I have a skunk with my PS. For my turn I place a lizard right next to it. I flip the lizard over. According to the rules if it is flipped over I "MAY take another turn" I chose no to activate this second turn. Since I used my turn and the PS is on a wasteland it is returned to my Skunk.

Change: word it "must take another turn" rather than "May take another turn" on the lizard's rules. That's all.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Cannon
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
Aha, I see what you're saying. I was thinking of finicking the wording for other reasons, but what you're recognizing is a problem indeed. Try this new wording:

When you establish a Lizard Town, you may Expand or Migrate again this turn with him as your only Pioneer Spirit. If you do, flip him at the end of your turn.

Thoughts?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Cannon
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
The other fix is that Age Cards have a lot of beginning and end of turn triggers. I definitely don't want the lizard to give you another whole turn with those triggers as well.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Enslow
msg tools
designer
mbmb
I think the "with him only as your pioneer spirit" is a bit confusing. I might think that means I move the Lizard as I migrate again.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Cannon
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
I'm not in love with that wording either, but I don't want the player to be able to play from the Oak as part of that bonus action. Maybe it's unnecessary? "As your only PS" came from a time when Oak read that it could "always be considered your PS." Since Oak triggers at the beginning of the turn and Lizard wouldn't be a new turn. Let's try this...

When you move your Pioneer Spirit to your Lizard Town, you may Expand or Migrate again this turn. If you do, flip the Lizard.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Enslow
msg tools
designer
mbmb
That's much better. Concise and clear. Our work is done here.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Van Biesen
Belgium
Dendermonder
flag msg tools
jup, perfect right there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dice bags!
United States
Wurtsboro
NY
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moved to Migration: Book II – A Saga of Conflict.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.