Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Clash of Cultures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Need clarification on naval battle with army units on board rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J. Mowery
United States
Hermitage
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Say Player A sends 4 ships into battle. Two of these ships have army units on board.

Player B sends his/her ships into battle and sinks 2 of Player A's ships.

Which ones sink?…the empty ones or the ones with the army units on board? Is it Player A's choice? Player B's choice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
badge
Sometimes life is scary and dark. That is why we must find the light. -BMO
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I doubt Player B would sink their own ships.

Despite the typo, I'd say it is Player A's choice which ships are destroyed, but I don't have the rules in front of me.

...which probably means I shouldn't even be answering the question... whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. Mowery
United States
Hermitage
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Misterboy wrote:
I doubt Player B would sink their own ships.


DOH!! Corrected.


Misterboy wrote:
I'd say it is Player A's choice which ships are destroyed, but I don't have the rules in front of me.


I couldn't find the answer anywhere in the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon W
England
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

It's in the FAQ that was posted here on BGG. The owner chooses which ship to lose:

"Q: Naval Combat: Who decide which ship/s should be removed as hits in combat?
A: The owner decides. And since Ships can have units on board, it is important that you decide which units are on which ships when you embark them. "

Cheers

Simon
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. Mowery
United States
Hermitage
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah yes…the FAQ. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.