Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions from a game against Shubby rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Ficek
United States
Erie
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all-

Won a fun game against Shubby last night, but was hoping I played correctly

- Shub-Niggurath increases the tougheness of all monsters by 1. That includes the trophies, yes?
- Mandy.... first time I played with her and I felt she was just crazy good. She can reroll a combat check with her research, correct? I read the rules and it is a check that is a fight check. She was awarded a Tommy Gun in setup and just went nutso on monsters being able to reroll once per round. Hoping I didn't screw that up.
- If I have the spell that allows me to cast and pass an evade check, can I cast it AFTER I already tried to evade the monster? In other words, if my sneak is 3, with a -1 modifier, can I roll two dice, and then if I fail, try to cast the spell?

Thanks all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Trophy Value is always affected by any modifier in play at the time you turn in the Trophy. So yes, those Trophies are all +1

2. Mandy is ranked #2 most effective Investigator (after the clearly "broken" Patrice Hathaway, which effectively makes her #1). You can see this in Tibs' stats here http://bit.ly/19ToXPr. You played her right - as long as you only did it once per turn.

3. Nope. If you fail the Evade you are immediately in Combat. To use the Spell you would cast it at the point you decide to make the Evade check. However, I'd probably let you roll the Evade check if you failed to cast the Spell, but not the other way around.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mccrispy wrote:
1. Trophy Value is always affected by any modifier in play at the time you turn in the Trophy. So yes, those Trophies are all +1

2. Mandy is ranked #2 most effective Investigator (after the clearly "broken" Patrice Hathaway, which effectively makes her #1). You can see this in Tibs' stats here http://bit.ly/19ToXPr. You played her right - as long as you only did it once per turn.

3. Nope. If you fail the Evade you are immediately in Combat. To use the Spell you would cast it at the point you decide to make the Evade check. However, I'd probably let you roll the Evade check if you failed to cast the Spell, but not the other way around.


I concur on #s 1 and 2...as for #3, it's a matter of perspective. I would allow it either way as you're attempting to Evade...but can absolutely see mccrispy's viewpoint
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Mc Cabe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
There are those who look at things the way they are and ask why . . . I dream of things that never were and ask why not
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify #3: If you fail the evade check, take the stamina damage and make a horror check. I would say in round two that Mists of R'lyeh could be cast. It would probably be better to cast first, since a failure wouldn't result in damage; but, I don't think it matters which you do first, as long as it's an "any phase" spell and the monster doesn't have the ambush ability.

Brian
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Ficek
United States
Erie
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all.

With just the base game it feels like having Mandy out there is a huge asset. I will admit that I rerolled my third random investigator because I wanted something new (I originally had pulled Jenny, Kate and Gloria, but I hated Gloria the last time I played with her, and hence rerolled to replace her). I would've had a much tougher game against Shubby if it was Kate/Gloria/Jenny (although Jenny's pretty dang good in her own right).

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may try to cast Mists and then if you fail you can do the evade check as normal.

If you try the other way, that is, you try and fail the Evade check, you indeed have to enter combat. You won't get another opportunity to try Mists until your next Evade check opportunity (which could be if you decide to flee rather than do the combat check).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.