Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bernice + Sneakdoor rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anton R.
Russia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Does bernice work in root of archives or HQ vs sneakdoor?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damien M
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Helps if you provide the card text

Sneakdoor Beta wrote:
Type: Program
Cost: 4 Memory Units: 2
Faction: Runner Criminal
Faction Cost: 3
[Click]: Make a run on Archives. If successful, instead treat it as a successful run on HQ.
Strength:
Bernice Mai wrote:
Type: Upgrade: Sysop
Cost: 0
Faction: Corp NBN
Faction Cost: 2
Whenever there is a successful run on this server, trace5 - if successful, give the Runner 1 tag. If unsuccessful, trash Bernice Mai.
Trash: 3


Sneakdoor changes it from Archives to HQ, so Bernice would need to be installed in HQ to work against Sneakdoor.

"If successful, instead treat it as a successful run on HQ." -> "Whenever there is a successful run on this server"
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Kennedy
United States
Athens
Georgia
flag msg tools
Bernice says:

Whenever there is a successful run on this server, trace5– if successful, give the runner 1 tag. If unsuccessful, trash Bernice Mai.

Sneak Door says:

Make a run on Archives. If successful, instead treat it as a successful run on HQ.

So if Bernice is installed on Archive, you get to trigger it as making a successful run on archives is necessary for Sneak Door.

If Bernice is installed on HQ, Sneak Door counts as a successful run on HQ and also triggers.

Is there anything I'm missing here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua H
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The trigger for both events happens on step 4.4 ("The run is considered to be SUCCESSFUL.")

Anything that happens on the same line can be triggered in any order. So, these are simultaneous events.

If players ever want to perform simultaneous events at the same time, the player whose turn it is resolves all effects first.

Thus, the runner successfully runs Archives while Bernice is in Archives. This triggers 4.4 events. The runner wants to trigger Sneakdoor first, and the Corp wants to trigger Bernice first. It's the runner's turn, so they resolve Sneakdoor first, and avoid Bernice.

If Bernice is in HQ, then the corp can trigger her after Sneakdoor.
5 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
ugagamers wrote:
Bernice says:

Whenever there is a successful run on this server, trace5– if successful, give the runner 1 tag. If unsuccessful, trash Bernice Mai.

Sneak Door says:

Make a run on Archives. If successful, instead treat it as a successful run on HQ.

So if Bernice is installed on Archive, you get to trigger it as making a successful run on archives is necessary for Sneak Door.

If Bernice is installed on HQ, Sneak Door counts as a successful run on HQ and also triggers.

Is there anything I'm missing here?


Fauxreigner has it spot on - simultaneous effects are covered in the rules. Bernice can and will ONLY trigger from a Sneakdoor run if she's installed in HQ.

It's also worth noting that the runner can't decide to access Archives instead to avoid Bernice - he declares s Sneakdoor run when he spends the click, and it's a non-optional effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Palpster
Netherlands
Nunspeet
Gelderland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no "trigger" to actively activate on sneakdoor. Its an action which gets fully resolved. If the run is succesful it is 'instead' treated as a succesful run on HQ. So when using The action provided by Sneakdoor a Bernice on Archives will never fire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J F
msg tools
Palpster wrote:
There is no "trigger" to actively activate on sneakdoor. Its an action which gets fully resolved. If the run is succesful it is 'instead' treated as a succesful run on HQ. So when using The action provided by Sneakdoor a Bernice on Archives will never fire.


This seems the more reasonable situation. Considering it as a simultaneous effect (which it isn't really) could lead to problems in interpretting interactions with other cards (current or future) that may activate after a successful run on archives.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Maier
msg tools
Sure there is a trigger. It is only considered to be a successful run on HQ if the run on archives is successful. The trigger to change the target of the run is delayed.

For example if there was a Ruhr Valley installed on archives, the run would cost an additional action because while initializing the run it still targets archives.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Kennedy
United States
Athens
Georgia
flag msg tools
I went home thinking last night how this situation would apply to Datasucker and realized I was horribly wrong.

The "if succesful, treat it as a successful run on HQ instead" trumps Bernice's trigger because of the timing structure of the turn.

Tobias: Ruhr Valley is a different case because its effect takes place before the run is succssful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.