Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

7 Wonders: Wonder Pack» Forums » Rules

Subject: Abu Simbel and Esteban rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Günter Immeyer
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you still allowed to "entomb" Esteban after having used his ability?

The rules for Esteban only say to turn the card 90 degrees to show that you've used his ability, but apart from that: he's still a leader present in your city, isn't he...?

My fellow players argued that this would seem a bit unfair, as all of the other leaders' abilities have to be forfeited/sacrificed in case you entombed those. Well, except for Croesus and Solomon, maybe...

Mhmmm, come to think of it: that probably answers my question already, as the case is quite similar to Solomon, actually. Since you can bury him after you've made use of his ability, why shouldn't you be able to "exploit" Esteban to the max also? devil

Well, but there could of course still be some exceptional or special ruling for Esteban - does anyone know if this is the case?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Doughty
United States
California
flag msg tools
OVERTEXT HERE
badge
Funded by supporters like you!
Avatar
mb
Esteban's only special rule concerns the Courtesians Guild. There are none concerning Abu Simbel.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Münster
NRW
flag msg tools
Hidden trackable information in games sucks!
badge
I play games for fun and pursuing the goal to win the game is fun! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Miraculix wrote:
Are you still allowed to "entomb" Esteban after having used his ability?


I see absolutely no reason in the rules why this shouldn't be allowed.

Yes, this means that Esteban is probably the best leader for Abu Simbel's ability.
That's the nature of Abu Simbel's ability, many leaders are lousy for it but some are very good.
Not only Solomon is another good choice but also Ramses, Bilkis or Archimedes - to mummify at the end of age III after they have used up most of their utility.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antoine Bauza
France
Valence
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Miraculix wrote:
Are you still allowed to "entomb" Esteban after having used his ability?


You can, unless his mother is seated at the table you'll break her heart !
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Münster
NRW
flag msg tools
Hidden trackable information in games sucks!
badge
I play games for fun and pursuing the goal to win the game is fun! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
toinito wrote:
Miraculix wrote:
Are you still allowed to "entomb" Esteban after having used his ability?


You can, unless his mother is seated at the table you'll break her heart !


What if you explain to the understandably happy parents that it's of course meant like this?
After he'll have grown up through whole ages full of wonders and will have lived a very long and happy life, he'll have left such a big mark on his civilization, that his grave will be a very special place in this far future that many people will come to visit and remember him!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Günter Immeyer
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Antoine Bauza wrote:
You can, unless his mother is seated at the table you'll break her heart !

Haha - great answer (from a great author) - Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.