Nick Pitman
Scotland
Glasgow
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

This is a really horrible event card in the Gathering deck. When it comes back out (and you have no way to discard it) the tile you were gathering from gets flipped over and removed from the game.

This came up for us in Scenario two while gather fallen trees from our camp tile. Normally this cant happen as you cannot gather resources from your camp tile. If we enacted this card our entire camp would be destroyed - a potentially deadly catastrophe with no time and resources to rebuild our shelter,roof,pallisade and shortcut.

Should it be ignored in the expansion?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The tile itself is not removed from the board, only flipped. However, anything on the tile gets discarded.

But you are right - if the camp tile is on it, you lose the game.

Should it be ignored?
Why?
How often will you collect things on the camp tile? Yes, it is more likely in the expansion than in the base game (where you never collect things on this tile), but how likely is it that this card gets drawn just then?
So if you draw it, in exactly that circumstance, that is just bad luck, or fate.

Btw, there are other cards that can kill you outright, depending on the circumstances. A lot of them, of course. Depending on the circumstances.
Do you want to ignore all of them?

But then, it is your game. If you think the card kills the fun for you, ignore it. However, it should never become official rule!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.