Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Occupying Tokyo: Gain 2pts at beginning of EVERY turn or YOUR turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Swood
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules are actually unclear on this as they simply state "the turn".

We just played our first 4 player game and it went way too quickly. Only 1 person was able to buy a card and they didn't even get to use it and the game was over.

If the rule is that you gain 2pts at the beginning of EVERY turn, then we will probably have to play up to 40 points in order to have any fun.
1 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Your turn.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swood
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gah! Okay... that will do it then. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt O'Connor
msg tools
Oh, weird. We played it first as gaining 2pts at the beginning of YOUR turn, but the winner, twice, basically stayed out of Tokyo & just amassed VPs & there didn't seem to be anything we could do. So we played it as gaining 2 VPs at the beginning of every turn in Tokyo. It definitely provided a huge incentive to get into Tokyo.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If someone outside Tokyo is playing for VPs then player in Tokyo should be playing for claws.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt O'Connor
msg tools
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
If someone outside Tokyo is playing for VPs then player in Tokyo should be playing for claws.


Is that sufficient?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
oconnor0 wrote:
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
If someone outside Tokyo is playing for VPs then player in Tokyo should be playing for claws.


Is that sufficient?

Yes.

It's easier to inflict 10 damage than to collect 20 VPs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.