Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Wars Miniatures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Legal targets rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Neko Me
msg tools
"legal target
An enemy must be a legal target for an attack, special ability, or Force power. The acting character must have line of sight to it. An enemy with cover is not a legal target unless it is the nearest. If one or more enemies are adjacent to the character, only those enemies are legal targets."

Can someone explain it better? For example, Blaster barrage says I can attack every legal target once. Are characters with no cover, legal targets?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flying Arrow
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lulianna wrote:
"legal target
An enemy must be a legal target for an attack, special ability, or Force power. The acting character must have line of sight to it. An enemy with cover is not a legal target unless it is the nearest. If one or more enemies are adjacent to the character, only those enemies are legal targets."

Can someone explain it better? For example, Blaster barrage says I can attack every legal target once. Are characters with no cover, legal targets?


Yes, they are.

To determine legal targets:
* If any enemy is adjacent, only adjacent enemies are legal targets.
* Otherwise, the nearest enemy is a legal target. Also, any enemy without cover is a legal target. If two enemies happen to be the exact same distance away they both count as 'nearest' and are legal targets even if they have cover.

(Note that abilities like Stealth and Cloaked and Accurate Shot get around the targeting rules in various ways.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Club Squirrel
England
Brierley Hill
The Black Country
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Atomic batteries to power! Turbines to speed!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also note that for Blaster Barrage you have to determine all your legal targets before any attacks are made. So you cannot blast a Stormtrooper and then target the one behind him.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Holttum
United Kingdom
Southend on Sea
Essex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In flowchart formet.....

Are any enemies adjacent? If yes, they are the ONLY legal targets.

If there are no enemies adjacent, find the nearest enemy/s (two or more may be equidistant).
The nearest enemy/s are legal targets, whether or not they are in cover.
All other enemies in line of sight that are NOT in cover, are also legal targets,
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.