Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carlo
Canada
Alberta
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick stat question cause I'm not good with that kind of thing so I'd appreciate some help.

The general idea is modifying D6s around a target number, in an attack vs defense scenario. Attacker gets a high number of D6s, say 6D6. Defender rolls a smaller number, say 3D6, and the defender uses those dice to determine the target number (X+). IF they choose a lower target number it reduces the number of dice the attacker gets.

For example if the Defender has 3D6 and rolls 6, 4, 2, they could make the target 6+, but the attacker would get their full 6D6. If they chose 4+ as the target number the attacker would reduce their number of dice by 6-TN, or in this case 6-4=2, so they'd be rolling 4D6 at 4+ instead of 6D6 at 6. Similarly if the defender chose 2 it'd be 2D6 at 2+.

What has better odds? What about if the defender only gets 2 dice and the attacker gets more, say 7? Is there a clear "winning choice" of reducing TN but also reducing dice, or keeping a high TN and high number if dice.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Walters
United States
Hercules
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

Not sure how the target number is matched. If I have to roll a target number of 6 or more on 6d6 I will probably exceed that number. If you need to *match* the target number it does not matter what the target number is: ie I am exactly as likely to roll 3s on six dice as sixes on those same dice.

So are you trying to roll multiples of the target number? If so, the odds are the same. I am as likely to roll two, three or four times two on two dice as four on four dice. There are some stochastic differences that will make the game feel different, but I'm not qualified to talk about those without putting a lot of time into it.