Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Commands & Colors: Napoleonics» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules: Fire and Hold card with Combined Arms attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thom Brennan
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If an infantry unit and artillery unit are both activated by a Fire and Hold card, and they then participate in a combined arms attack, do you add +1 to the die for the attack, or +2 (one for each unit)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
my eye
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grondeaux wrote:
If an infantry unit and artillery unit are both activated by a Fire and Hold card, and they then participate in a combined arms attack, do you add +1 to the die for the attack, or +2 (one for each unit)?


Fire & Hold is can only be used for ranged combat (and ordered units cannot move). Combined Arms can only be used when the supported infantry/cavalry is in melee. So there can be no Combined Arms when playing a Fire & Hold card.
13 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thom Brennan
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, duh! You're absolutely correct, of course. Maybe I should read the cards a bit more closely.

Thanks for the quick response. blush
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Minot
North Dakota
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That said, there are a couple of cards (Cold Steel, Elan) that could give a +1 to both infantry/cavalry and artillery in a combined arms assault, and in that case they would each add +1 to their die totals.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.