Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Syndicate profit action question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
dhm zeug
Germany
Paderborn
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I am uncertain about the wording of the syndicate's profit procedure (4.5.1). How many cash markers are you allowed to place under how many guerillas or cubes in 1 or 2 spaces with an open casino?

(A) you place 1 cash marker under a single guerilla or cube of your choice in one space with an open casino. You may repeat this for a second space with an open casino. So you can place cash up to a total of 2 cash markers.
(B) you place 1 cash marker under every guerilla or cube in one space. You may repeat this for a second space. So the total placed cash depends on the total number of guerillas in the 2 spaces.

As I am not a native speaker I got this question after reading the german translations of the rules and player aids provided here on BGG. The authors translated the word "any" in "Place 1 available Cash marker (4.5.2) under any Guerrilla or cube in each of 1 or 2 spaces with an open Casino" with the german word "jedem" which translates back to "all/every". However "any" has also translations to german words with meanings like "one of many" or "a single arbitrary".

As I understand the english rules option A should be the correct interpretation. Can anybody confirm?

Thank you!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G Schulteis
United States
Bourbonnais
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Option A looks correct to me.
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Grossman
United States
Grand Junction
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Option A is correct. The sentence requires careful reading in English, so I understand the confusion.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Richtig.

Quote:
4.5.1 Profit. ...
PROCEDURE: Place 1 available Cash marker (4.5.2) under any Guerrilla or cube in each of 1 or 2 spaces with an open Casino.

Es sollte heissen:

Quote:
4.5.1 Gewinn Einstreichen (engl.: Profit). ...
VERFAHREN: Platziere 1 verfügbaren Bargeld-Marker (4.5.2) unter jedem irgend einem Guerilla oder Würfel in 1 oder 2 Bereichen mit einem offenen Casino.

Volko
5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dhm zeug
Germany
Paderborn
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Salamone
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Aggravating people worldwide since 1964
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To further clarify, if I choose to place 2 cash markers can I place them under 2 different Guerillas or cubes in the same space? Or am I limited to placing 1 cash marker in one space and 1 cash marker in a different space?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P. Fowler
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
We provide...
badge
The rich and powerful take what they want. We steal it back for you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joe_salamone wrote:
To further clarify, if I choose to place 2 cash markers can I place them under 2 different Guerillas or cubes in the same space? Or am I limited to placing 1 cash marker in one space and 1 cash marker in a different space?

It's 1 Cash in one space and 1 Cash in a separate space, both having an Open Casino.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.