Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building Units in Occupied but allied spaces rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris K.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi guys,

we came across another obscure situation/rule question in yesterday's game that we were not quite able to resolve to everyone's satisfaction.

Here it is:

The Habsburg has lost Antwerp and Amsterdam to England. Next Round they turn their war into an alliance and England retains control of both spaces.

Can Habsburg now build units in Antwerp or Amsterdam?

The only preconditions we were able to find were

a) the space needs to be a home space
b) it needs to be friendly controlled

Since friendly controlled is defined as controlled by you or your ally, it seems that Habsburg could build a fleet or unit in these spaces.

It just feels very, very wrong. So what did we miss?

Thanks a bunch in advance for all replies.



PS: Similar situation: All of Scotland is under English control after France intervened on Scotlands behalve. Later in the game England and France are allied. Can France now build the scottish fleet in one of the scottish harbors?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Sure you can. Friendly means what you say it means.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Doe
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Weird. So Foreign Recruits can be built on any ally's controlled spaces as well?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
theactionisgo wrote:
Weird. So Foreign Recruits can be built on any ally's controlled spaces as well?


Er, no, because spaces controlled by an ally are not "spaces you control".
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Doe
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oops. That's what I get for only reading the rule section that mentions the card and not the card itself.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris S
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Your comment made me think of something that recently came up in our game. Can you make an alliance with someone you are currently at war with? We weren't sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cs9804 wrote:
Your comment made me think of something that recently came up in our game. Can you make an alliance with someone you are currently at war with? We weren't sure.


You agree to end the war and an alliance. The alliance cannot be accepted unless the peace is also accepted.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.