Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Caesar: Epic Battle of Alesia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
BrentS
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two questions came up in our first trial of the game due to the slightly ambiguous wording of the rereat results in the CRT.

Quote:
15.3 AR#
The path of retreat may not be into an enemy ZOC or through restrictive terrain if other non-blocked routes exist. Units unable to retreat the prescribed number of hexes due to enemy ZOC or restrictive terrain are eliminated instead.


The first sentence makes it sound as if passage through restrictive terrain is permitted if no other legal path is available ….the second sentence makes it sound like this is not permitted and the unit would be eliminated.
Is this worded this way to prohibit the enemy from intentionally retreating the unit into an elimination situation when safe options exist?

The other question regards the wording "through restrictive terrain". Could a retreating unit enter a river hex and then be moved along the river (enemy ZOCs allowing), as long as it does not cross the river?

Thanks,

Brent.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Labelle
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
goshublue wrote:
the second sentence makes it sound like this is not permitted and the unit would be eliminated.
Is this worded this way to prohibit the enemy from intentionally retreating the unit into an elimination situation when safe options exist?

Yes.

goshublue wrote:
The other question regards the wording "through restrictive terrain". Could a retreating unit enter a river hex and then be moved along the river (enemy ZOCs allowing), as long as it does not cross the river.

Yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.