John Thornby
United Kingdom
University of Warwick
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the game and gearing up for my first OP event tomorrow. I'm playing Klingons and don't have all the expansions yet, but I did pick up a couple of bits and pieces on the recommendation of people from the BGG forums. This is my proposed list, please critique:

Klingon Starship (Negh'var class)
+ Flagship + Martok
Drex
Alexander
Advanced Weapon System

IKS Maht-H'a
+ Worf
N'Garen
Advanced Weapon System

Admiral's Order: Strike Force

Should be 100 points. The intention is that I should have two actions per ship, which means I can stay cloaked the whole game and still take other actions. Does this seem reasonable?
Which flagship would you take? I was thinking probably Klingon. Would it be better to have Worf on the Negh'var in order to maximise damage from the high attack value, or would it be too much of a disadvantage acting after the elite captains?

I have 2 x Core; Negh'var and Koraga so far. I have ordered Somraw, but it may not arrive in time for tomorrow. Advice appreciated, thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon NyD

Denver
Colorado
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Drex + Alexander are kind of unnecessary, but alexander could work okay for defense rolling. Also keep in mind when you play that the strike force action extra die is only for an uncloaked ship, but that doesn't mean it is any less useful! You could just as easily lose the advanced weapon system on your flagship and use the strike force action to re-cloak if need. At some point you may be uncloaked, and Strike force is still good.

With those two ships, I wouldn't go immediately for the joust (especially if facing a Klingon fleet). Make sure that you make good use of sensor echoes if the opponent has small firing arcs! Range 1-2 for the Klingon flagship is actually pretty far. Don't be afraid to split them up if that will be advantageous!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide