So what is the proper order of playing a spell, the effects, and checking to see if you recharge the spell? This is especially important with heals and can apply to items like the staff of healing besides spells. Do you recharge the card before or after you shuffle the healed cards back into your deck because this will either shuffle your spell (or other boon) around as well or do you always recharge after putting it on the bottom of your shuffled deck?
Usually the cards are pretty specific.
For instance, I believe the wand of healing says to recharge the wand, to recharge a random card in the discard pile. So I first recharge the wand, and then I take a random card from the discard and recharge it, so the wand is the second-to-the-bottom card.
For Cure, I think it's pretty explicit that you first shuffle cards into the deck, and *then* discard/recharge, so the cure card can't be "cured" and if recharged, it ends up on the bottom of the deck, rather than shuffled into it.
- Last edited Thu Mar 20, 2014 4:05 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Thu Mar 20, 2014 4:05 pm
Right. Cure is very explicit:
Reveal this card and choose a character at your location. Shuffle 1d4+1 random cards from his discard pile into his deck, then discard this card.
If you do not have the Divine skill, banish this card.
So you reveal the card, roll the 1d4+1, shuffle the result into the character deck, then discard the card. Only after discarding the card, do you get to attempt to recharge it, because the recharge is a replacement for discarding.
And Staff of Minor Healing is clear too:
Staff of Minor Healing wrote:
Recharge this card and choose a character at your location to recharge 1 random card from his discard pile.
So you recharge the Staff of Minor Healing, then you get to recharge 1 random card. So the staff will be drawn before the random card (assuming your deck doesn't get shuffled).
For cards you discard to play during a check as part of an encounter that have a recharge box check, you play the card, attempt the check, then attempt the check to recharge the spell.
Rulebook v3 p10 Encountering a Card wrote:
Attempt the Check. If the card is a boon, you may try to acquire it for your deck; if it’s a bane, you must try to defeat it (see Attempting a Check, below). If a card’s check section says “None,” look at the card’s powers, and immediately do whatever it says there.
Attempt the Next Check, If Needed. If another check is required, such as if you played a boon with a check to recharge, or if your bane requires a second check to defeat, resolve it now. Repeat this step until you have resolved all such checks.
After you play the card it doesn't count as being in your hand, you discard pile, your deck or anywhere. So it is just sitting in limbo waiting for you to attempt the recharge.
Rulebook v3 p15 wrote:
If, while attempting another check, you play a boon that you may be able to recharge, resolve the current check before attempting to recharge the card. The boon is in play (and does not count as being in your hand, in your deck,in your discard pile, or elsewhere) during the intervening time.
If you play a card that is displayed and then discarded at the end of the turn, you attempt the recharge during "Reset Your Hand" as part of applying all the end of the turn effects.
Rulebook v3 p9 wrote:
Reset Your Hand: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn; if a power allows or directs you to not reset your hand, you must still apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn. You may play cards and use powers unless a power directed you to reset your hand and end your turn. After resolving these effects, you may no longer play cards or use powers for the rest of the turn.
- Last edited Thu Mar 20, 2014 4:48 pm (Total Number of Edits: 3)
- Posted Thu Mar 20, 2014 4:45 pm
The easiest way to use the Staff of Minor Healing when using it yourself (remember it says any character at your location) is to say you're using it, then determine which card you're recharging, then put that card face up on top of the face up Staff, then put both face down under your deck. That keeps the Staff on top.