Subject: Is Kickstarter the end of the "little game store"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Finn
msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I just exchanged an email with an independent game store owner who mentioned that Kickstarter is probably the "slow death" of independent game stores. As someone who has used Kickstarter to fund my 3 most recent games, I have to say the comment evoked a sadness within me, as I really don't intend to be participating in such a killing process--but it makes me wonder if I am. As an independent game designer, I had a very hard time publishing my own games before Kickstarter, so for me, it is a kind of savior. However, perhaps it does do damage to the brick and mortar shops by setting up direct sales.

In short, I'm a little confused about what to think and curious to know your thoughts.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No. The internet is. This applies to brick and mortar in many ratail spaces. When was the last time you went to your local mall? Were there more boarded up shop fronts then active ones? That's what I see here in Austin and the economy here is booming. I can only imagine what it's like in other places.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Krahn
Canada
Taber
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I would think the more savvy independent game store owners would use kickstarter to get copies of games that aren't available at big box stores.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Johanson
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mb
I personally don't think game stores were ever really a safe venture. Board game hobbyists aren't a big enough niche to sustain a lot of stores over the long term.