Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Survive: Escape from Atlantis!» Forums » Variants

Subject: A FIGHTING CHANCE variant rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Kauffman
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
________________________________________________________________________

Explorers and Swimmers now always have A FIGHTING CHANCE when they find themselves being attacked by a Whale, Giant Squid, Shark, or Sea Serpent.

Any time a Explorer or unprotected Swimmer is attacked by a Sea Creature for any reason which would remove them from the game,
the player controlling the Explorer or Swimmer under attack rolls the Second of the DIVE DICE.

The Explorer or Swimmer get A FIGHTING CHANCE roll EVERY time they are attacked in a turn, no matter how many times they are attacked.

A result of 1, 2, or 3 indicates how many Explorers or Swimmers are removed from play in the same Land Tile, Boat, or Sea Space as they are being attacked in.
If in a Boat, the Boat is also removed from play.
It is the player being attacked who chooses which Explorers or Swimmers are removed.

A "D" result means the Explorer or Swimmer SURVIVE! the attack unaffected. If in a Boat, the Boat also SURVIVES!

Explorers and Swimmers which SURVIVE! an attack stay alive and are not effected by any death results that may follow.

(Example: You have 3 Explorers in a Boat and it is attacked by a Sea Serpent. Each Explorer gets A FIGHTING CHANCE roll as long as they have not died in an attack.
The first one SURVIVES! by rolling a "D". The second and third ones would die by rolling a 2 or 3 respectively, and the boat would be removed.
If you roll a 1, only one of the two explorers die, the Boat is removed, and the remaining one would get to roll for their FIGHTING CHANCE then.
The first one who rolled a "D" is not affected by any death results because they have already SURVIVED! the attack.
The first SURVIVOR! becomes a Swimmer now and the Sea Serpent attacks again!)


WHALE
A "D" indicates the SHIP is not removed.
A 1, 2, or 3 is ignored for Explorers and Swimmers.(Whales cannot attack Explorers or Swimmers) and the SHIP is removed.

GIANT SQUID
A "D" indicates the Explorer is not removed.
A 1 indicates one Explorer dies in the attack.
A 2 or 3 result is ignored. (GIANT SQUID cannot attack more than one Explorer).

SHARK
A "D" indicates the Swimmer is not removed.
A 1, 2, or 3 indicates how many Swimmers die in the SHARK attack.

SEA SERPENT
A "D" indicates the Swimmer or Explorer and SHIP are not removed.
A 1, 2, or 3 indicates how many Explorers or Swimmers die in the SEA SERPENT attack and the SHIP is removed.
________________________________________________________________________
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Cheng
Hong Kong
Ma On Shan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The example on sea serpent attack is confusing, You said there are three explorers on the boat & each explorer rolls one die. But only two dice were rolled in the example. How about the 3rd explorer also rolls a D? or the first explorer rolls a 3 instead?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Kauffman
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Opps! Sorry...that was confusing. whistle
I rewrote it correctly this time.

Explorers or Swimmers only get A FIGHTING CHANCE roll
if they have not died in an attack.

Thanks for catching that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ccini ccini
Spain
flag msg tools
If you use a 6 dice it's simplier if every explorer has to obtain his puntuation or less.
In this case you have to look the puntuation of the meeples. It's only works if you change the victory target for save the high number of explorer (only number, not puntuation)

In this house rule, some explorer are stronger than others. The 6 always survive, and the explorer with 1 or 2 are fragile a lot.

In the case that they were in a boat. Survivors went to water and swim, simply. The boat is destroyed as always by the serpent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.