Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple romulan pilot rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jonathan kipps-bolton
United Kingdom
watford
hertfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It was deemed that the romulan pilot is a free action not a free scan action so can be used with a scan action to get two scan tokens.

But could I use multiple romulan pilots to get more scan tokens.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Vulcan
msg tools
mbmb
No, as your ship can only take the same action once per turn, so only 1 romulan pilot per turn (since the romulan pilot's ability itself is a 'free action' is not the point, it is a 'different' action than scan action which is why you can get multiple scan actions this way, but still only use 1 romulan pilot per turn). You can combine it with a normal scan action and disobey orders (to convert another token, IE: from picard / flagship / etc.)to get a max of 3 currently.
There are hints that janeway may be able to do something else to let you have another, whoever that is not clear yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jonathan kipps-bolton
United Kingdom
watford
hertfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought of this but it's not a specific action, so if that is the ruling you can't do more than one free action. So you couldn't combine a romulan pilot and a free action from martok.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not that you can't take more than one free action, the rule states that you can't take the same action more than once. So in effect, you cannot take more than one of the same free action
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristoff Bergenholm
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ender02 wrote:
It's not that you can't take more than one free action, the rule states that you can't take the same action more than once. So in effect, you cannot take more than one of the same free action


This is pretty much correct. Andrew ruled since that the Romulan Pilot's effect was an action (albeit free), that was enough to trigger the 'cannot perform the same action more than once' clause when trying to resolve two of them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Vulcan
msg tools
mbmb
Yep, free or not you can not take the same action twice on a ship in the same round.
The formula pilot discard triggers a free action that "moves the ship and places a scan token" that is different from a "scan action" just as it's different from a "evade action" or a "cloak action" etc.
You can not do the same one twice on the same ship in the same turn, but through free actions, normal actions, etc. you can do more than one of them in the same turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.