Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Myth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Meditate Action Movement Bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Cordz
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the list of movement bonuses for the Meditate Action, the card says that if you don't move you get +2FD. What are these fate dice added to? It doesn't seem like the card's ability requires you to roll for anything, and the reference guide isn't any help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Middleton
United States
Laramie
Wyoming
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The movement bonuses and penalties do not always apply to the card that they are listed on. They are cumulative and in effect for the whole Hero Cycle.

So any Fate roll you need to make would get that bonus bump. Though whether it can apply to multiple rolls or just one is still at large.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
randall fischer

Warren
Michigan
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You sure about that? The only cards I know of that pass their dice on to other cards are combo cards. This isn't that. From everything I've read, the move bonus or penalty only applies to that action unless combo'd or otherwise stated. I think it's a typo
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cordz
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DegenerateElite wrote:
The movement bonuses and penalties do not always apply to the card that they are listed on. They are cumulative and in effect for the whole Hero Cycle.

So any Fate roll you need to make would get that bonus bump. Though whether it can apply to multiple rolls or just one is still at large.


Are you sure? Where is this mentioned in the rules? Page 20 says that Fate Dice are added from the Hero Token, Weapon, and Hero Buffs. Would Meditate be considered a Buff in this case? I thought Buffs were a specific card type, not any type that grants a bonus based on movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Middleton
United States
Laramie
Wyoming
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well what else does the +2 Fate mean then. It does nothing at all on this card unless it can apply to something else durning that Hero cycle. Can you use them for anything without moving?

Not cummulative but persistant.

The movement type, if you play aggressive or normal, applies to all cards and each card has its penalties for whtever moves you have played. Like moving 2 would trigger all normal movement or stationary penalities and restrictions. If you then play Hustle as a reaction, you are up to Aggressive penalties and restrictions for the cycle.

Some bonus interactions are murky. A lot of buffs are just addons to other card effects, and not played for the buff itself. Likeany of the go into Shadows cards. You paly them for Shadows and the also grant +2 Fate that carries over as long as you are in Shadows.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Remi Bureau
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DegenerateElite wrote:
Well what else does the +2 Fate mean then. It does nothing at all on this card unless it can apply to something else durning that Hero cycle. Can you use them for anything without moving?

Not cummulative but persistant.

The movement type, if you play aggressive or normal, applies to all cards and each card has its penalties for whtever moves you have played. Like moving 2 would trigger all normal movement or stationary penalities and restrictions. If you then play Hustle as a reaction, you are up to Aggressive penalties and restrictions for the cycle.

Some bonus interactions are murky. A lot of buffs are just addons to other card effects, and not played for the buff itself. Likeany of the go into Shadows cards. You paly them for Shadows and the also grant +2 Fate that carries over as long as you are in Shadows.


That's something specific to shadows card, and the +2FD only applies to cards that combo off of shadows. I don't think this mechanic can be extrapolate to every cards in the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
randall fischer

Warren
Michigan
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I simply think its a typo. It shouldnt be there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Pecorelli
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless Meditate will eventually have a card that combos off of it in a Journeyman Apprentice ability. Say, like a Mystic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Squire
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is inconsistent with movement modifiers on other cards, so typo or something for the future seems likely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.