Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

diZe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why stop when there's only one human left? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Morten Monrad Pedersen
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've wondered why the game ends when there's only one survivor left?

As I understand the rules you could easily play a turn with just one human and to me that end-at-one-survivor-rule leaves the game in an unsatisfactory state where I don't know whether I've won or lost - someone survived (which is kind of a win), but some zombies also survived (which is kind of a loss).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santiago Eximeno
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With only a die you can satisfy first condition on Human Attack:

"If gets a number of pair values dice equal to or greater than odd
values dice"

So we need to stop with only a survivor.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten Monrad Pedersen
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eximeno wrote:
With only a die you can satisfy first condition on Human Attack:

"If gets a number of pair values dice equal to or greater than odd
values dice"

So we need to stop with only a survivor.


Yes, I'd say that we can. If you roll an even number on the single d6, then you've gotten more even values than odd and capture a zombie. If you roll an odd number, then you've gotten less even than odd results (assumming "pair"="even" as discussed in another thread).

So unless I'm missing something there's no problem.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santiago Eximeno
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"pair" must be "even", yes. A translation error, sorry

But we miss "equal"... but... but...

I believe that I was wrong and I'll modify final condition so you can play with a solo survivor until the end.

I'll update a new version for the rules this week.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Santiago Eximeno
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And, of course, thanks for your comments and for play diZe!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten Monrad Pedersen
Denmark
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eximeno wrote:
"pair" must be "even", yes. A translation error, sorry

But we miss "equal"... but... but...

I believe that I was wrong and I'll modify final condition so you can play with a solo survivor until the end.

I'll update a new version for the rules this week.



I think we can make do without "equal" .
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scribes
England
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mortenmdk wrote:
If you roll an even number on the single d6, then you've gotten more even values than odd and capture a zombie. If you roll an odd number, then you've gotten less even than odd results.


I read, and applied, the rules the same way on my 3rd game when down to 1 human; he either captured & retired or failed his attacks, but managed to avoid zombie attacks. In the end he took 6 zombies solo (of the 9 executed in the game) before the 7th infected him. zombie
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.