Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advance after combat of panzer unit into a Counterblow hex rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
pere cobo
Spain
barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi have this question after my second play.

8th Italian Army at Smolensk with a Counterblow on it in front of two adjacent russian units (for a total of 9 Combat Strenght Points).

Close to smolensk germans attack one russian unit, and get DR result, the german player decide to move the one Panzer unit to Smolensk.

Now we resolve the counterblow at smolensk. As per 10.3.4 the Panzer unit can't participate in the counterblow.

The odds are 1:4 so an automatic CA result.

Now the Russian have to decide if they want to attack at Smolensk, now it isn't anymore a piece of cake (cause the panzer unit turn odds to 1:1).

If they attack and get a CA result, the german player will be able to attack with both the 8th Italian and the Panzer unit(who just attacked on this turn prior to end its AAC movement at Smolensk)?

The sequence is correct?

a)The panzer will not participate in the first counterblow,
b) but will add its strenght against the Russian counterattack?
c) Finally if the last sentence was right, will be able in case of a new CA result to add its strenght if the German Side decide to Counterattack?

Thanks in advance!!!

Awesome game
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Pere,

I suspect there is something not right here... Since you say the Germans are attacking, I suppose it is the Axis turn, right? Then you CANNOT have a counterblow on an Italian (axis) unit! I suppose that counterblow counter was placed last turn, right? You ALWAYS put counterblow counters on the NON-PHASING player.

Rules, Page 13:

Remember that a Counterblow called for by the CRT (the CB result) will be resolved during the next Player-Turn: you flip the “Target” marker to its Counterblow side, and place it on one of the Phasing Player’s attacking hexes, owner’s choice; even if during a Counterattack (CA).

Example of play, page 13:

The attack on Volkhov is at 3:2 odds, a die roll of 3 results in a “CB”. The German places a Counterblow marker on the 9th Army—it will be resolved next turn. Against the Northwest Army the German player also has a : (it would have been 2: if not for the Counterblow from the st Baltic Front). A die roll of  results in a “CA”. Feeling lucky, the Soviet player attacks back the 3rd Panzer Army at :2 (remember, defensive terrain does not count in a Counterattack). A 5 results in another “CB”, so the counter is again placed on the Axis unit. Note that a Counterblow marker generated by combat is always placed on the Phasing Player’s units.

But let's suppose it was the Russian turn, and the Panzer retreated on the counterblow; then it WOULD be part of that "counterblow" battle as a defender, even if attacked earlier, and would add it's strength to the CA, too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Johnson
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm - missed the counterblow issue Carl pointed out.

But let's assume instead that the Italians attacked voluntarily anyhow. Check page 12, section 10.7.2 - CA results only involve the units participating in the original battle. In this case, The panzer is an unengaged unit and can't help in attack or defense in a CA, but still must retreat if the Russians get a DR or DD.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
pere cobo
Spain
barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your quick reply.

Of course it was german turn. The problem was that we put the Counterblow as a result of the precedent Russian combat wrongly on the German Unit instead of one of the two Russian attacker units.

But let's assume the same scenario german turn, italians on smolensk, two russian units close to it,one with CB from precedent turn (now set correctly) , and in the next german phase, The german player don't move away the Italian Unit and we put another CB marker on the other Russian Unit?

What will happen then?

It will be Jeff's response? The original battle is the one set once both players have put all his attack CB markers so only Italians will be able to attack?
and if the result is a Russian CA, now the panzer unit will not be able to take part nor in defense of that CA, nor in a possible CA result allowing germans to Counter attack?

Thanks!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oakfed wrote:
Hmm - missed the counterblow issue Carl pointed out.

But let's assume instead that the Italians attacked voluntarily anyhow. Check page 12, section 10.7.2 - CA results only involve the units participating in the original battle. In this case, The panzer is an unengaged unit and can't help in attack or defense in a CA, but still must retreat if the Russians get a DR or DD.


This is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alonsi wrote:
Thanks for your quick reply.

But let's assume the same scenario german turn, italians on smolensk, two russian units close to it,one with CB from precedent turn (now set correctly) , and in the next german phase, The german player don't move away the Italian Unit and we put another CB marker on the other Russian Unit?

What will happen then?

It will be Jeff's response? The original battle is the one set once both players have put all his attack CB markers so only Italians will be able to attack?
and if the result is a Russian CA, now the panzer unit will not be able to take part nor in defense of that CA, nor in a possible CA result allowing germans to Counter attack?

Thanks!!!


Only the Italians would be able to attack, and respond to a CA. The Germans cannot participate and at worst will duffer a DR result.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
pere cobo
Spain
barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
licinius wrote:
alonsi wrote:
Thanks for your quick reply.

But let's assume the same scenario german turn, italians on smolensk, two russian units close to it,one with CB from precedent turn (now set correctly) , and in the next german phase, The german player don't move away the Italian Unit and we put another CB marker on the other Russian Unit?

What will happen then?

It will be Jeff's response? The original battle is the one set once both players have put all his attack CB markers so only Italians will be able to attack?
and if the result is a Russian CA, now the panzer unit will not be able to take part nor in defense of that CA, nor in a possible CA result allowing germans to Counter attack?

Thanks!!!




Only the Italians would be able to attack, and respond to a CA. The Germans cannot participate and at worst will duffer a DR result.


Thank you!!!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.