Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Memoir '44: Pacific Theater» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi can you give me a hand with this.

Do army command rules win over action card rules
eg Japs "ignore 1st flag" and cards saying "flags can't be ignored"

Jungle fighters rules
can a jap jungle fighters unit move (charge) into a jungle 2 hexes away and still battle an adjacant enemy unit.

Amos
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
420017 wrote:
Hi can you give me a hand with this.

Do army command rules win over action card rules
eg Japs "ignore 1st flag" and cards saying "flags can't be ignored"

Can't overrides can.

Quote:
Jungle fighters rules
can a jap jungle fighters unit move (charge) into a jungle 2 hexes away and still battle an adjacant enemy unit.

Amos

No. You have to be adjacent to the jungle at the time you are ordered to be able to move into the jungle and still battle. if you start 2 hexes away, you will not be able to battle.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Can't overrides can.


But what about "MUST" ,i think the Jap army rules say "must ignore the 1st flag"

Amos

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clexton27
United States
Forest
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
420017 wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Can't overrides can.


But what about "MUST" ,i think the Jap army rules say "must ignore the 1st flag"

Amos


The FAQ is clear about this. P.3:
Quote:
Q. If a Unit with a Heroic Leader is behind Sandbags, may that unit ignore two Flags thrown against it in a single battle?
A. Yes, this unit could ignore the 1st Flag because of the Sandbag (Terrain Protection) and the 2nd Flag because of Heroic Leader (Special Unit Protection). This same effect would also apply to Italian Artillery Units and Imperial Japanese units. However, if attacked by a Barrage or Airpower card, the unit would not be able to ignore any Flag because those cards always overpower the protections.


This comes from an original post on the Memoir '44 Forum:
RBorg wrote on Wed, 12 April 2006 10:57 wrote:
Q. When a Command card states "flags may not be ignored," must Japanese infantry ignored these flags?

A. No
Command cards the state flags may not be ignored still will cause Japanese infantry to retreat. Like many of you, members of my game group refer to this as ?Command cards trump the rules?.

Richard Borg

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AMOS BURKE
United Kingdom
WALSALL
WEST MIDLANDS
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
You have to be adjacent to the jungle at the time you are ordered to be able to move into the jungle and still battle. if you start 2 hexes away, you will not be able to battle.


Jungle Fighters battle when moving in?
Says you can, so still stuck on this.
Amos
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
420017 wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
You have to be adjacent to the jungle at the time you are ordered to be able to move into the jungle and still battle. if you start 2 hexes away, you will not be able to battle.


Jungle Fighters battle when moving in?
Says you can, so still stuck on this.
Amos

The answer was given and is backed up in the FAQ. What you have now quoted is something specific to that scenario(s) in the Campaign book. In essence, the "jungle fighter" treats a jungle as "clear terrain" in this instance.

What you were asking about before is the general Japanese Infantry which is not a "jungle fighter" by default. In that, the rules are clear you must start adjacent in order to move into a jungle hex AND battle. The FAQ should clear up anything that might be a lingering doubt.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.