武士に二言無し
Italy
Caravaggio near Bergamo near Milano
Europe + Earth + Via Lactea
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!

I deeply respect your enthusiasm for this game, but ...
Do you think that after RE release all will change? With only RE and after two/three plays, veteran players will return to "monster" dimension.
I buy RE only and solely for having just a new title in my "magazine", absolutely not interest in the PG that is an additional cost that I would have preferred not having to pay.
And knowing a little the uman nature, after RE little or nothing will change in possibilities of play.
I started playing OCS for the "complexity and challenge" not to play scenario-like campaign, so RE will be a drop in the sea of OCS titles old and future.
Finally, to all new player of OCS, study forty or so pages of rules and after ... you want to play biggest campaign not only "one map, with 60 or so combat units (both players) in action at any given time".

See you on the Battlefield!

F.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Hoyt

Butte
Montana
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You mentioned availability, which is a big part.

Every time I've decided to try OCS I find recommendations for Tunisia, but I can't find a copy. So I lose interest and move on. Probably been around that cycle a half dozen times now. RE is at least something I can buy, though I'm currently at that part of the cycle where I don't think I want to learn OCS anyway and therefore am sitting on my hands.

And that is at least in part to the other phenomenon you mention, lots of guys who own OCS titles, but don't play them. I know that's hardly limited to OCS, is in fact fairly common in wargaming, but with people who've already spent the money, and have the game on the shelf, still not finding time/energy to take it on, do I really want to fall into that same camp myself? No, but I can see where somebody currently in that situation might hope that RE is just what they need to break the ice and get going.