Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Captain ability and Ship ability, are they an action/free action? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Troy Stillman
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Okay, so I've been playing the full game for a few weeks now, and there's a number of questions that keep coming up. A constant one is the break down of actions, abilities, and free actions.

Okay lets say the Enterprise D is captained by Picard, after moving can one;

1) Attack a ship at range 2 outside it's field of view "Ship's Ability"
2) Take the action of Battle stations
3) And use a scanning token as a free action "Captain Ability"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) no
2) yes
3) yes

The reason that 1 is no is that this attack would take place in the attack phase, not during the activation phase.

Starting with the lowest Captain skill, each ship will;
reveal your movement - move your ship - Take available actions (this includes your ships action for the turn, free actions like Picard's ability, and the activation of any special ability or upgrade that starts with the word "ACTION").

After all ships have completed this, then starting with the highest captain skill, each ship will;
Have the option to perform an attack with their primary weapon (or special abilities that replace your primary weapon like the Enterprise-d's ability. These usually start with the word "ATTACK") or their secondary weapon (assuming that they have meet the requirements for that particular weapon), or do nothing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scooter of the Ancients
United States
West Chester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
SovietDooM wrote:
Okay, so I've been playing the full game for a few weeks now, and there's a number of questions that keep coming up. A constant one is the break down of actions, abilities, and free actions.

Okay lets say the Enterprise D is captained by Picard, after moving can one;

1) Attack a ship at range 2 outside it's field of view "Ship's Ability"
2) Take the action of Battle stations
3) And use a scanning token as a free action "Captain Ability"


Attacking is not an Action. The Enterprise's ability to shoot 360 is still an attack, and occurs during the Combat Phase. No action is needed to use this ability, it happens in place of normal attack.

It is true that with some ships/captains/upgrades, there are special attacks that occur outside the normal Combat phase, or require Actions to be taken to "prime" them (such as Counter Attack), but Ent-D isn't one of them.

2 and 3 are good. Your ship moves and then takes its actions in any order. It is important to remember that it is always the SHIP that takes the action. Captain Picard grants his ship the ability to use certain abilities as Free Actions, but Picard himself does not take the action, Ships take actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Skyguard
msg tools
mbmb
Welcome to Attack Wing

Trying to make it as simple as I can

An "Action" is
1. Anything on a card that starts with Action:
2. Using one of your ships "action bar" actions
3. Clearing a disable token from a card

Free Actions are just doing an action that doesn't count to the ships limit of 1 action of any type a turn.

Anything else doesn't cost an action and is triggered by its card text.

For your example

After moving in the movement the Ent-D can
1) Use it's normal action to take a BattleStations
2) Use Picards text ability to take a free action from the listed ones. In this case Scan.
Now in the attack phase
1) Use the Ent-D card text to attack outside of primary arc.

Key action things to remember in Attack Wing (updated as I thought of more things, and updated to by clear that it's only upgrades)
1. You can't take the same action twice in a turn (for the same ship)
2. You can't trigger multiple cards upgrades off the same token.
3. If your ship loses its action for the turn it can not take any free actions.
4. You can take each ships actions in any order.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scooter of the Ancients
United States
West Chester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Skyguard wrote:

2. You can't trigger multiple cards off the same token.


Not quite accurate. You can't trigger multiple UPGRADES. Captains and Ships don't count as Upgrades, so you could (if you had them) trigger a Ship Effect, Captain Effect, and Upgrade Effect off of the same token.

For example, Khan and Boheeka can use their ability off of the same Battlestations token.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Stillman
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Okay, so let say the enemy ship is;

IKS Koraga Captained by Worf, with In'Cha and an advanced weapon system upgrade.

1 *while cloaked* move
2 attack
3 re-roll all blanks "captain's ability"
4 remain cloaked using the advanced weapons system upgrade
****Is this a free action****?
5 defend, with the ships ability of +1 defense die
6 take the action of In'cha and move again

I'm just trying to nail down the ability to play actions, free actions, ship ability's, captain abilities, and elite talent all in the same round. So, the only time they would conflict would be if one happened to say "action"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Skyguard
msg tools
mbmb
Mordaenor wrote:
Skyguard wrote:

2. You can't trigger multiple cards off the same token.


Not quite accurate. You can't trigger multiple UPGRADES. Captains and Ships don't count as Upgrades, so you could (if you had them) trigger a Ship Effect, Captain Effect, and Upgrade Effect off of the same token.

For example, Khan and Boheeka can use their ability off of the same Battlestations token.


Correct, sorry I didn't make that clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scooter of the Ancients
United States
West Chester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
SovietDooM wrote:
Okay, so let say the enemy ship is;

IKS Koraga Captained by Worf, with In'Cha and an advanced weapon system upgrade.

1 *while cloaked* move
2 attack
3 re-roll all blanks "captain's ability"
4 remain cloaked using the advanced weapons system upgrade
****Is this a free action****?
5 defend, with the ships ability of +1 defense die
6 take the action of In'cha and move again

I'm just trying to nail down the ability to play actions, free actions, ship ability's, captain abilities, and elite talent all in the same round. So, the only time they would conflict would be if one happened to say "action"?


There are four phases in the game.

1) Planning Phase
This is when everyone secretly selects their maneuvers for the round/

Once everyone locks in their maneuver...
2) Activation
One at a time, starting with the lowest Captain Skill, each ship moves.
After a ship moves, it may take 1 Action. An Action is any of the Actions on its Action Bar OR any special Action granted by an Upgrade, Captain, or Ship. The card is used as an Action if it says "ACTION" or has the text "as an action" or "as a free action". Free Actions don't count towards your 1 Action, but still must be taken during this Action step, unless specifically mentioned elsewhere. You may also use an Action to re-enable any disabled cards

Once everyone Moves and Acts...
3) Combat
Ships shoot at each other starting with the highest captain skill.

4) End phase
Disabled shields re-enable and tokens/effects that expire at the end of the round go away.


So in your example: In'cha needs to be used after moving, as it is an action. Disableing the Adv. Weapon System to stay cloaked is not an action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Stillman
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Okay I think I have this is flushed out now, thanks for the break downs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Vulcan
msg tools
mbmb
Mordaenor wrote:
SovietDooM wrote:
Okay, so let say the enemy ship is;

IKS Koraga Captained by Worf, with In'Cha and an advanced weapon system upgrade.

1 *while cloaked* move
2 attack
3 re-roll all blanks "captain's ability"
4 remain cloaked using the advanced weapons system upgrade
****Is this a free action****?
5 defend, with the ships ability of +1 defense die
6 take the action of In'cha and move again

I'm just trying to nail down the ability to play actions, free actions, ship ability's, captain abilities, and elite talent all in the same round. So, the only time they would conflict would be if one happened to say "action"?


There are four phases in the game.

1) Planning Phase
This is when everyone secretly selects their maneuvers for the round/

Once everyone locks in their maneuver...
2) Activation
One at a time, starting with the lowest Captain Skill, each ship moves.
After a ship moves, it may take 1 Action. An Action is any of the Actions on its Action Bar OR any special Action granted by an Upgrade, Captain, or Ship. The card is used as an Action if it says "ACTION" or has the text "as an action" or "as a free action". Free Actions don't count towards your 1 Action, but still must be taken during this Action step, unless specifically mentioned elsewhere. You may also use an Action to re-enable any disabled cards

Once everyone Moves and Acts...
3) Combat
Ships shoot at each other starting with the highest captain skill.

4) End phase
Disabled shields re-enable and tokens/effects that expire at the end of the round go away.


So in your example: In'cha needs to be used after moving, as it is an action. Disableing the Adv. Weapon System to stay cloaked is not an action.


Right, advanced weapons is actually in the combat phase in response to declaring the attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Skyguard
msg tools
mbmb
SovietDooM wrote:
Okay, so let say the enemy ship is;

IKS Koraga Captained by Worf, with In'Cha and an advanced weapon system upgrade.

1 *while cloaked* move
2 attack
3 re-roll all blanks "captain's ability"
4 remain cloaked using the advanced weapons system upgrade
****Is this a free action****?
5 defend, with the ships ability of +1 defense die
6 take the action of In'cha and move again

I'm just trying to nail down the ability to play actions, free actions, ship ability's, captain abilities, and elite talent all in the same round. So, the only time they would conflict would be if one happened to say "action"?


Ok actions can only happen in that ship's activation phase
(normally, there are a few ways to break this rule, Martok8 being the one of them, but we aren't there yet)

The phases are
1. Planning Phase - set you dial
2. Activation Phase - reveal dial, move your ship, take actions
3. Combat Phase - Attack other ships and/or Defend from other ships
4. End Phase

All ships must go through each phase before we move to the next.

So your example doesn't work as once you are attacking you have left the activation phase so the ship can't use In'Cha.

A corrected example
IKS Koraga (starting the turn cloaked) Captained by Worf, with In'Cha and an advanced weapon system upgrade.
Planning Phase
1. Set dial

Activation Phase (Worf will activate on his captain skill, activation goes lowest to highest)
1. Reveal Dial
2.*while cloaked* move
3. Take action, in this case discard In'cha to move again
4. perform action

Now he waits for the rest of the ships to activate

Combat Phase (Worf will activate on his captain skill, activation now goes highest to lowest)
1. attack a ship
2. Worf's ship can remain cloaked by following the text on the the advanced weapons system upgrade and placing a disable token on the card.(***Note this is not an action the card text says "when attacking" is the trigger which we did)
3. Re-roll all blanks "captain's ability"***)
4. Defending ship now rolls there dices

Now he waits for the rest of the ships to activate in the combat phase. In this case Worf's ship is now attacked by a ship.
1. Attacking ship rolls dice
2. Worf's ship now rolls dice. The IKS Koraga card text is trigger by the attack (**not an action ***) and we add +1 die.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Vulcan
msg tools
mbmb
Skyguard wrote:
SovietDooM wrote:
Okay, so let say the enemy ship is;

IKS Koraga Captained by Worf, with In'Cha and an advanced weapon system upgrade.

1 *while cloaked* move
2 attack
3 re-roll all blanks "captain's ability"
4 remain cloaked using the advanced weapons system upgrade
****Is this a free action****?
5 defend, with the ships ability of +1 defense die
6 take the action of In'cha and move again

I'm just trying to nail down the ability to play actions, free actions, ship ability's, captain abilities, and elite talent all in the same round. So, the only time they would conflict would be if one happened to say "action"?


Ok actions can only happen in that ship's activation phase
(normally, there are a few ways to break this rule, Martok8 being the one of them, but we aren't there yet)

The phases are
1. Planning Phase - set you dial
2. Activation Phase - reveal dial, move your ship, take actions
3. Combat Phase - Attack other ships and/or Defend from other ships
4. End Phase

All ships must go through each phase before we move to the next.

So your example doesn't work as once you are attacking you have left the activation phase so the ship can't use In'Cha.

A corrected example
IKS Koraga (starting the turn cloaked) Captained by Worf, with In'Cha and an advanced weapon system upgrade.
Planning Phase
1. Set dial

Activation Phase (Worf will activate on his captain skill, activation goes lowest to highest)
1. Reveal Dial
2.*while cloaked* move
3. Take action, in this case discard In'cha to move again
4. perform action

Now he waits for the rest of the ships to activate

Combat Phase (Worf will activate on his captain skill, activation now goes highest to lowest)
1. attack a ship
2. Worf's ship can remain cloaked by following the text on the the advanced weapons system upgrade and placing a disable token on the card.(***Note this is not an action the card text says "when attacking" is the trigger which we did)
3. Re-roll all blanks "captain's ability"***)
4. Defending ship now rolls there dices

Now he waits for the rest of the ships to activate in the combat phase. In this case Worf's ship is now attacked by a ship.
1. Attacking ship rolls dice
2. Worf's ship now rolls dice. The IKS Koraga card text is trigger by the attack (**not an action ***) and we add +1 die.


Very good write up, however one thing is off:

Combat Phase (Worf will activate on his captain skill, activation now goes highest to lowest)
1. attack a ship declaration
1b. Worf's ship can remain cloaked by following the text on the the advanced weapons system upgrade and placing a disable token on the card.(***Note this is not an action the card text says "when attacking" is the trigger which we did)
2. Attacker rolls dice
3. Defending ship now rolls there dice
4. Defending ship now modifies dice (rerolls, use defiant special ability etc.)
5. Attacker modifies dice (in this case reroll all blanks "captain's ability"***) [Note any single dice can only be refilled once (with exception), so? If a defining ship rerolls an attack dice the attacker can not rerolls it at this point]
6. Apply damage (interphase generator activates here)
7. Apply critical effects
8. Activate any "on death" abilities (cheat death, etc.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wright
United States
Grovetown
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Something else I always wondered. We have been playing that a ship's action is the only way to activate an upgrade which starts with "action:" A free action could not be used to activate an upgrade card's "action", is this true?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Vulcan
msg tools
mbmb
grainywagons wrote:
Something else I always wondered. We have been playing that a ship's action is the only way to activate an upgrade which starts with "action:" A free action could not be used to activate an upgrade card's "action", is this true?



Free actions can activate anything, unless it says otherwise (ie martock 8 can activate anything, however the crew on the new op 6 prize bajorian ships specifically says "on ship's action bar" which would limit that free action to one from the action bar, etc.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Waspinator
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Most sources of free actions in this game give restrictions on how they can be used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scooter of the Ancients
United States
West Chester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
docvulcan wrote:

Combat Phase (Worf will activate on his captain skill, activation now goes highest to lowest)
1. attack a ship declaration
1b. Worf's ship can remain cloaked by following the text on the the advanced weapons system upgrade and placing a disable token on the card.(***Note this is not an action the card text says "when attacking" is the trigger which we did)
2. Attacker rolls dice
3. Defending ship now rolls there dice
4. Defending ship now modifies dice (rerolls, use defiant special ability etc.)
5. Attacker modifies dice (in this case reroll all blanks "captain's ability"***) [Note any single dice can only be refilled once (with exception), so? If a defining ship rerolls an attack dice the attacker can not rerolls it at this point]
6. Apply damage (interphase generator activates here)
7. Apply critical effects
8. Activate any "on death" abilities (cheat death, etc.)


Actually #3 is not correct. The defender does not roll defense until after all modifications (re-rols and converstions) are made to the Attacker's dice, and more over once the Defender rolls then it is too late to modify the Attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr Vulcan
msg tools
mbmb
Mordaenor wrote:
docvulcan wrote:

Combat Phase (Worf will activate on his captain skill, activation now goes highest to lowest)
1. attack a ship declaration
1b. Worf's ship can remain cloaked by following the text on the the advanced weapons system upgrade and placing a disable token on the card.(***Note this is not an action the card text says "when attacking" is the trigger which we did)
2. Attacker rolls dice
3. Defending ship now rolls there dice
4. Defending ship now modifies dice (rerolls, use defiant special ability etc.)
5. Attacker modifies dice (in this case reroll all blanks "captain's ability"***) [Note any single dice can only be refilled once (with exception), so? If a defining ship rerolls an attack dice the attacker can not rerolls it at this point]
6. Apply damage (interphase generator activates here)
7. Apply critical effects
8. Activate any "on death" abilities (cheat death, etc.)


Actually #3 is not correct. The defender does not roll defense until after all modifications (re-rols and converstions) are made to the Attacker's dice, and more over once the Defender rolls then it is too late to modify the Attack.


You are right, so the full section should be:

Declare attack
Attack events occurs (advanced weapons system use, flip cloak token to red, etc.)
Attacker rolls attack dice
Defender modifies attack dice
Attacker modifies attack dice
Defender rolls defence dice
Defender modifies defence dice
Attacker modifies defence dice
Compare attack and defence dice to determine final hit and crit count
Interphase generator (if applicable)
Apply damage
Apply critical effects
Apply "upon destruction" effects (cheat death, etc.)

Does anyone see anything else that needs to change?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Dole
msg tools
docvulcan wrote:
Mordaenor wrote:
docvulcan wrote:

Combat Phase (Worf will activate on his captain skill, activation now goes highest to lowest)
1. attack a ship declaration
1b. Worf's ship can remain cloaked by following the text on the the advanced weapons system upgrade and placing a disable token on the card.(***Note this is not an action the card text says "when attacking" is the trigger which we did)
2. Attacker rolls dice
3. Defending ship now rolls there dice
4. Defending ship now modifies dice (rerolls, use defiant special ability etc.)
5. Attacker modifies dice (in this case reroll all blanks "captain's ability"***) [Note any single dice can only be refilled once (with exception), so? If a defining ship rerolls an attack dice the attacker can not rerolls it at this point]
6. Apply damage (interphase generator activates here)
7. Apply critical effects
8. Activate any "on death" abilities (cheat death, etc.)


Actually #3 is not correct. The defender does not roll defense until after all modifications (re-rols and converstions) are made to the Attacker's dice, and more over once the Defender rolls then it is too late to modify the Attack.


You are right, so the full section should be:

Declare attack
Attack events occurs (advanced weapons system use, flip cloak token to red, etc.)
Attacker rolls attack dice
Defender modifies attack dice
Attacker modifies attack dice
Defender rolls defence dice
Defender modifies defence dice
Attacker modifies defence dice
Compare attack and defence dice to determine final hit and crit count
Interphase generator (if applicable)
Apply damage
Apply critical effects
Apply "upon destruction" effects (cheat death, etc.)

Does anyone see anything else that needs to change?


Yeah, the Attacker modifies the defense dice before the Defender modifies the defense dice.

so the full section should be:

Declare attack
Attack events occurs (advanced weapons system use, flip cloak token to red, etc.)
Attacker rolls attack dice
Defender modifies attack dice
Attacker modifies attack dice
Defender rolls defence dice
Attacker modifies defence dice
Defender modifies defence dice
Compare attack and defence dice to determine final hit and crit count
Interphase generator, Massacre, Quantum torpedoes, etc. (if applicable)
Apply damage
Apply critical effects
Apply "upon destruction" effects (cheat death, etc.)


Does that look about right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.