Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: if defender wins edge battle... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
DOM WIGGAN
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
... can they damage an opposition objective? or does the defending player just go for the attacking players units?
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Thomson
Canada
Stittsville
Ontario
flag msg tools
This is the end; hold your breath and count to ten; feel the earth move and then; hear my heart burst again
badge
"We are not now that strength which in old days moved earth and heaven; that which we are, we are; one equal temper of heroic hearts, made weak by time and fate, but strong in will to strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield." - Tennyson
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The defender does not do objective damage, regardless of whether or not they win the edge battle.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Defending units can never damage opposing objectives, unless a card ability allows them to do so. If the defender wins edge, they get to strike first and get to use any edge enabled icons.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DOM WIGGAN
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
.."any edge enabled icons"... so blast damage... to damage the attacking player's objective card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tilou
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
DJW1979 wrote:
.."any edge enabled icons"... so blast damage... to damage the attacking player's objective card?


No.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DOM WIGGAN
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
so not "any edge enabled icons" then? only ones that are not blast damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Saloff
United States
Edinboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
This is a rebellion, isn't it? I rebel.
badge
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DJW1979 wrote:
.."any edge enabled icons"... so blast damage... to damage the attacking player's objective card?


Dom, the blast damage icons let's you damage the engaged enemy objective. When your units with blast damage symbols are defending an attack, they are not engaged with any enemy objective. So those symbols don't do anything.

This is clarified on page 21 in the rulebook.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Saloff
United States
Edinboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
This is a rebellion, isn't it? I rebel.
badge
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DJW1979 wrote:
so not "any edge enabled icons" then? only ones that are not blast damage?


Well if you win edge you "turn on" all of your edge-enabled icons, but the blast damage ones won't do anything. Only the unit damage and tactics ones do anything when defending.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Tjarks
United States
Crowley
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another way to look at it:

At the start of the battle, the attacker declared the location of the battle. The units there can only attack the objective that the battle is at. You don't want to hit your own objective, do you?

(This assumes no cards, powers, or abilities that let either player damage the objective of their choice)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DOM WIGGAN
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
alright shirty... and thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Evans
United States
Little Rock
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Delaric wrote:
But what if I want to initiate a Scorched Earth policy?


Play Andriod: Netrunner!!!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.