Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Garden Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is the example for harvest chaining in the rulebook is correct? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ahmad Lokman Ishak
Malaysia
JERTEH
TERENGGANU
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would like to ask those who knows (if possible the designer
Doug Bass
United States
Winston-Salem
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
) about the chaining example in the Harvest A Veggie section from the rulebook.

Is the example correct? I asked because I wonder why when a tile numbered 3 was harvested, chaining only happen to the tile numbered 1 on the left and tile numbered 2 below it? Why the tile numbered 2 on the right was not affected when the number is obviously lower than the first harvested tile?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
badge
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The important sentence here is on pg 4 of the rules:

The chaim only water-seeds tiles that have a lower value than the previously watered tile in the chain....

In the example you are refering to the chain goes from a 4 to a 3 value tile and then on to a value 1 tile, as the next value 2 tile (i.e. the one you are asking about) is not lower than the previous value 1 tile, it is not part of the chain.

So, yes the illustration in the rules is correct.

I am not the author of the game, but I did the translation of it into German language. But I am pretty sure, Doug will confirm this very soon as he is very responsive and cares for his customers.

Take care and have fun with the game!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ahmad Lokman Ishak
Malaysia
JERTEH
TERENGGANU
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
badge
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

The example you referred to is in page 4 under Water A Seed section. I was referring to the example on page 5 under Harvest A Veggie section.

Here's a diagram of the illustration withthe tile number showed.

(1)---(3)-X-(2)
......... |.......
.........(2)---(1)
..........|.......
.........(1)......

The harvested tile is 3. Why the tile numbered 2 on the right is not harvested?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
starscream 882
Philippines
Davao City
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cause the one on the right is a seed
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ahmad Lokman Ishak
Malaysia
JERTEH
TERENGGANU
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ooohhhh... that's why. Sorry for the trouble when it was me who did not look at the example closely. Thanks for the clarification.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Bass
United States
Winston-Salem
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to those who responded in my absence - I was out of town without internet access for the past four days. Starscream882's answer is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cindy H

North Carolina
msg tools
Could I ask for clarification on the chaining?
We've been playing were like can chain to like (a 5 seed can chain to a 5 seed or any lower seed, or a 3 veggie can chain to a 3 veggie or any lower veggie only). We double checked over the rules tonight, is it only to a lower number tile (of being same action/type, watered seed or harvest veggie)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Bass
United States
Winston-Salem
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Cindy,

Chaining works on lower-numbered seeds/veggies only.

Thanks for playing!

Best,
Doug


Ice Mutt wrote:
Could I ask for clarification on the chaining?
We've been playing were like can chain to like (a 5 seed can chain to a 5 seed or any lower seed, or a 3 veggie can chain to a 3 veggie or any lower veggie only). We double checked over the rules tonight, is it only to a lower number tile (of being same action/type, watered seed or harvest veggie)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cindy H

North Carolina
msg tools
Excellent, thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.