Popular Tags: [View All]
J
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
admin
mbmbmbmbmb
I think all government programs should be adjusted for inflation and cost of living. This's data is already collected, so it wouldn't cost anything extra.

Full disclosure: I'm a government contractor. When I travel, my per diem and housing allowance are all determined by the cost of living in the destination. These costs are reevaluated each year.

Would. This end up costing more? Probably, but I don't know. I do think its ridic to setup A program with constant benefits though.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Gray
United States
Bayfield
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
jmilum wrote:
I think all government programs should be adjusted for inflation and cost of living. This's data is already collected, so it wouldn't cost anything extra.

Full disclosure: I'm a government contractor. When I travel, my per diem and housing allowance are all determined by the cost of living in the destination. These costs are reevaluated each year.

Would. This end up costing more? Probably, but I don't know. I do think its ridic to setup A program with constant benefits though.

COLA and inflation don't normally go down. So, if you are on govt assistance, you essentially get a raise every year? This is not how it works for everyone that is working for a living. It also seems like a good way to ensure increased spending on these programs, year over year (which I think we are already overspending on). It would also cause benefits recipients to flock to more expensive areas for the increase. This is basically encouraging increased spending amongst a group that should probably be on a tighter budget. So, far I'm not seeing a compelling argument.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
admin
mbmbmbmbmb
I've gotten a raise every year since I got out of college.