Grant Porter
United States
Providence
RI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation:

An Aircraft is currently hovering at low altitude in a hex. On my movement/attack phase I first move the Aircraft to the edge of its current hex and enter a ridge (performing ridge evasion). If there is no other ridge blocking the Aircraft's line of sight, can the Aircraft attack from the ridge while in low altitude?

[I want to attack a Command Vehicle in the neighboring hex that has no ridges without changing to high altitude and making myself vulnerable to a few other enemies.]

I'm on the third day/fifth mission of my introductory Iraq Surge campaign and so, despite my Veteran Hammer, I am a relative newbie pilot. I looked through the rule book (p. 16) and this forum but I cannot seem to find an example of this specific situation. (Admittedly, it could because I do not know the right keywords to search.) The rules state that an Aircraft cannot attack through a ridge, but I do not believe the Aircraft is attacking "through" a ridge as it is already "in" the ridge when performing its attack. The situation seems comparable to ridge evasion being necessary only when an Aircraft is "entering" a ridge at low altitude, not exiting that same ridge.

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Porter
United States
Providence
RI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems my question was already addressed in the "first dreaded LOS question" thread posted by Ryanmobile: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/9609869

So, to answer my question based on my reading of that thread, "no", the Aircraft cannot attack if it is on a ridge and in low altitude because the ridge blocks its line of sight with respect to enemy units. In my example I would have had to change altitude to High then moved/attacked the Command vehicle, exposing myself to the Command vehicle if my attack failed (and other enemies even if it succeeded).