Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: upgrades and etiquette rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
wanderingmystic
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just curious on this basic ruling as I see this done on both OCTGN and in videos of real games in play: where is the proper place to install upgrades on the table?

The rulebook states in the "root" which is "below the server". However it seems common practice to install as the first card in the same exact spot the server goes. Only when there is an agenda/asset do players stagger the cards. This bluffs runners into exploring what could be an agenda.

According to the rules, shouldn't it be obvious when a card is an upgrade and when it is not?

Thanks for helping a newbie cool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Magoulis
United States
Safety Harbor
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure upgrades are only installed in the "root" below the server when you'e dealing with central servers. Not knowing if it's an asset, agenda, or upgrade is part of the bluffing game for remotes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Roman
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Per the ANR rulebook:

"Upgrades:

Upgrades are improvements to a server that provide the Corporation with a wide variety of benefits and bonuses.
The Corporation installs upgrades in remote servers or the roots of central servers. Upgrades are the only card type that can be installed in the root of a central server. An upgrade is not active until it is rezzed by paying credits equal to its rez cost.
There is no limit to the number of upgrades that can be installed in a server. When the Runner accesses an upgrade, he can trash it by paying credits equal to its trash cost."

The upgrade is just another card in the remote server, and because of its placement, may be used as a bluff by the corp player (the goal being to make the runner think it may be an agenda or asset). This technique becomes self-limiting when you begin to place advancement tokens on said agenda or an asset (if possible), but that does not negate the fact that the runner will have to pay (in clicks or credits) for the privilege of exposing your upgrade (and then perhaps trashing it).

IMHO, the rulebook does not makes this as obvious as it should be, and I learned this nuance by watching other seasoned players during a friendly game.

14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
wanderingmystic
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tommygunn2011 wrote:
Per the ANR rulebook:

"Upgrades:

Upgrades are improvements to a server that provide the Corporation with a wide variety of benefits and bonuses.
The Corporation installs upgrades in remote servers or the roots of central servers. Upgrades are the only card type that can be installed in the root of a central server. An upgrade is not active until it is rezzed by paying credits equal to its rez cost.

There is no limit to the number of upgrades that can be installed in a server. When the Runner accesses an upgrade, he can trash it by paying credits equal to its trash cost."

The upgrade is just another card in the remote server, and because of its placement, may be used as a bluff by the corp player (the goal being to make the runner think it may be an agenda or asset). This technique becomes self-limiting when you begin to place advancement tokens on said agenda or an asset (if possible), but that does not negate the fact that the runner will have to pay (in clicks or credits) for the privilege of exposing your upgrade (and then perhaps trashing it).

IMHO, the rulebook does not makes this as obvious as it should be, and I learned this nuance by watching other seasoned players during a friendly game.



Thanks. I've been pouring over the rulebook and can't find that wording on installing to central roots or simply in a remote. Could you quote me the page you found that?
'Preciate it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Page 9.

Upgrades go below central servers as it is impossible to tell them apart from your HQ, R&D or Archives if you were to put them anywhere else.

For remote servers they go with any Agenda/Asset as you can easily tell them apart by the type of card they are and all of them are installed at that point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
wanderingmystic
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Brilliant! Thank you all so much. The rules don't make it clear. It is contained in more or less 1 sentence in the entire book.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Beyer
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
more.
badge
Avatar
Everyone please bookmark this link:
http://netrunnerdb.com/en/rules

Linkable rules. It's awesome!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.