Jonathan Powell
Ukraine
Berdyansk
flag msg tools
badge
I'm in my prime.
Avatar
mb
I am unsure of how to use extra gained pawns such as the one given by the Carpenter's Handy Man skill or the Map invention.

Can these pawns be used individually or only with a player pawn?

Is this covered in the rules or the FAQ? I didn't see these pawns mentioned in either, other than the short descriptions at the back of the rulebook.

Is there any restrictions on the use of these pawns?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Crespo
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: can extra gained pawns be used individually?
Only assisting a player's pawn, not by itself. I don't have the rules in front of me but its somewhere in there.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Powell
Ukraine
Berdyansk
flag msg tools
badge
I'm in my prime.
Avatar
mb
Re: can extra gained pawns be used individually?
juanma99 wrote:
Only assisting a player's pawn, not by itself. I don't have the rules in front of me but its somewhere in there.


Thanks! I thought so, but couldn't find it in the rules? Can someone point me this in the rules?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Megee
United States
Edgewater Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: can extra gained pawns be used individually?
Here ya go... page 7 of Z-Man rulebook:

Additional Pawns

During the course of the game, players can gain additional
pawns to use while planning Actions. For example, the effect of
Building certain Items (like the Map or the Lantern), the eect of
certain Mystery cards (like Candles) or certain Discovery tokens,
can provide players with additional pawns. These additional pawns
are used during the planning Action phase in the same way that
players’ pawns are, with the following two exceptions: (a)they are
always restricted to certain types of Actions to which they can be
assigned to (as described on the card/token), and (b) they cannot
be used to take any Action on their own
- they must always be
used to support a player, and can only be assigned to an Action
if a player’s pawn has already been assigned to that Action. For
example, when taking the Exploration Action, you cannot assign
the additional pawn from the Compass card and the additional
pawn from the Map Item without a player pawn – at least one
player’s pawn must be assigned to the Exploration Action.
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: can extra gained pawns be used individually?
The exception being the Native pawns gained in scenario #3 of the expansion (due to one of the special Discovery tokens) and, of course, the pawns gained due to Crewmen cards...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Powell
Ukraine
Berdyansk
flag msg tools
badge
I'm in my prime.
Avatar
mb
Re: can extra gained pawns be used individually?
I just found it in the rules. Top right corner of page 7.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.